Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Discussion about VR

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
thru
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:52 am

Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by thru » Wed Apr 21, 2021 7:08 pm

Hi
I have bought an Oculus quest and want to run it now with Condor2, which is awesome!!

In Condor, under setup > graphics > Setup VR is (on) (checkbox "Oculus rift" is activated)

Initialisation of VR Quest is made with downloaded Oculus APP on smartphone.
VR Quest is turned on and linked with laptop via cable and USB-C.
When I am looking through the VRglasses, on the "homepage" (is that called virt. desktop?),
what settings and menues do I have to select exactly?

Do I have to run the Oculus APP on my smartphone as well at the same time?

At the end I have "Start flight" of Condor on my laptop?

And how do I have to proceed if I want to participate at a race (Condor Cafe, Hitziger server list) ?

I have checked other threads in the Forum, but I am still not able to run it, sorry.

Thank you and best regards

thru
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:52 am

Error message when trying to run VR Oculus Quest with link cable

Post by thru » Sat Apr 24, 2021 8:43 pm

I have downloaded and installed Oculus link SW on the laptop and
connected/liked the VR headset with the link SW.

Then I have downloaded and installed Steam and SteamVR, SteamVR is detecting the VR headset.
VR headset is connected with cable via USB C to the laptop.

In Condor2 under >setup > graphics setup VR is [on] . checkboxes Oc.Rift and Mirror rendering are activated.
Fullscreen emulation is selected/active. Other relevant/important settings?

When I try to run Condor, there is the following error message on the laptop screen:
Error initializing Direct3D. Check setup -> Video options.
For further details, please read Condor manual about setting up your hardware.

In the VR headset, I can see the Condor2 icon with the message waiting for ...

Thanks for any help.

ryanwoodie
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:47 am

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by ryanwoodie » Sun Apr 25, 2021 1:43 pm

Are you able to play other VR games on your PC through the Link?

Xavier
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by Xavier » Sun Apr 25, 2021 4:53 pm

The Quest 2 is now directly recognized by Condor, since the last update of Oculus (26.1.xxx).

Setting up and configuring the software on your PC

1/ Download and install the Oculus software: https://www.oculus.com/setup/

(Steam and SteamVR as well as Revive v 1.8.1 are no longer required)

2/ Launch Oculus then :
Oculus -> Settings -> General
Activate : Unknown sources

3/ Configure Condor 2 from the PC desktop for virtual reality
In the SET UP -> Graphics -> click on the VR button
a new window "Set Up Virtual Reality" opens
Check the boxes (be careful for Mirror rendering, you need a powerful graphic card) and set the "Depth perception factor". This is the slider that sensitive souls will be led to reduce to avoid untimely disturbances.

4/ If you haven't already done so, use as many buttons as possible on your flight accessories (Joy Stick etc) so that you have all the main controls at your fingertips: Set Up -> Input -> Assign Controls

Now everything is ready for the PC part and you won't have to come back to it.
Condor2 will be automatically launched in VR. However, you have to restart the PC!


Using the Quest 2 headset to fly in VR on Condor 2

Prepare your headset. It must be charged, the Oculus Link does not always maintain the full charge of the battery during the flight. The important thing is to have the right PD (pupillary distance) and the right eye height in relation to the helmet lenses. Too low or too high is blurry.
Prepare your desk, position your flight accessories (joystick, throttle, rudder and launch TeamSpeak etc..) and put your keyboard within reach. Keep the mouse and one of the oculus joysticks within reach.

Then here is the procedure to follow:

1/ Launch Oculus on your PC

2/ Start your headset by pressing the button on the right

3/ Plug in your Oculus Link and put on your headset
Then adjust your headset on your head, and take an Oculus controller.
From this step everything happens with the headset on your head.

4/ Accept or create or recreate your "Gardian" (protection zone)

5/ In the detached icon bar below the Quest 2 home panel, with the joystick click on the gear on the far right.

6/ Activate Oculus Link, from time to time you will be asked to redo the "Guardian" and allow data exchange again.

7/ A new icon bar appears with a new home screen, it is those of the RiftS

8/ Locate the "virtual desktop" button (a stylized screen), on the right side of the bar just next to the [ + ] key. Click with the joystick on this button and the virtual desktop is displayed (if you have several screens choose: monitor 1 or 2).

The copy of the PC desktop is displayed in the headset. It is then easier to use the mouse rather than the joystick to continue.

9/ To make a multi-player flight, launch your web browser then open the server list page, click on the desired flight and follow the usual protocol. To make a solo flight launch Condor 2 and press Free flight.
Then set the parameters of the flight, launch the flight with " Start Flight ".

10/ An anonymous loading screen is displayed (or not) after a certain time (not one of the welcome screens of the scenery).
At the end of the loading, after a brief moment, you are at the beginning of the VR flight.

Good flights in VR!

Thanks to: patjordan and K6chris for their precious advices in the Quest 2 Feedback topic. On the international forum: This tutorial is directly and largely inspired by their methods. Thanks to the other contributors of this topic for their advice and other remarks. And to Sylvain 2AB, for the remark about Steam and Steam VR.
Last edited by Xavier on Fri Apr 30, 2021 8:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
*****- Xavier - (XDL - VR FAN) *****

thru
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:52 am

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by thru » Mon Apr 26, 2021 5:59 am

Thank you so much, Xavier!

Unfortunately, I have bought a used Quest 1, the old one in black.
Is there any chance to run this model?

I have no experience with VR so far and bought the Quest1 just for Condor2.
So I don't know if my Quest1 is working with other games. I am not a gamer and do not intend to buy and play other games.
If there are any games for free, I will check if they are running.

It seems to be very complicated and time consuming to run Quest1 with Condor2
and that you have to install different apps with this model !!

With Quest2, if it is not necessary to have Steam, Steam2, revive etc. anymore and
according to your explanation, it sounds much more easy, I will resell my Quest1
and by the new Quest2.

Xavier
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by Xavier » Mon Apr 26, 2021 1:34 pm

Hi Thru,

Thank you for your kind Words!

Since februray 2021 I fly in Condor 2 with a Quest 2 with the configuration I explained.
For the first time I fly Condor 2 as in real life. Looking easyly outside at the landscape and to the clouds.

The Quest 2 is one of the best VR helmet.

The only restriction is the limited Field of View of 90°, and you need also a good graphic card.

Fly in VR will change your opinion about sceneries. You will appreciate well made sceneries and you will be disgusted of the bad sceneries.

VR increase all the defects of a scenery.

Good flight
*****- Xavier - (XDL - VR FAN) *****

cvvs
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:43 pm

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by cvvs » Fri Apr 30, 2021 5:25 pm

hello Xavier what type of graphics card do you have for info

Xavier
Posts: 559
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:22 pm
Location: France

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by Xavier » Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:23 pm

Hi cvs,

My gaphic card is a NVIDIA Ge Force 3070 RTX

Good flight!
*****- Xavier - (XDL - VR FAN) *****

thru
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 7:52 am

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by thru » Sat May 01, 2021 9:40 pm

I have bought now a quest2.

Until step8/, everything is ok.
In step 8/, when I press the virt.desktop button, I can see just a black rectangle, but not the content of my laptop desktop.
With the app virtual desktop, I have bought, I can see now in the headset my laptop desktop.

Step 3/ is ok, in setup - graph. - VR is on.

When I start a free flight, after the flight planner settings, just at the end when i press start flight, still the message on the laptop display:
Error initializing Direct3D. Check setup -> Video options.
For further details, please read Condor manual about setting up your hardware.

At the same time, in the VR headset, there is displayed the Condor-icon in the middle, very large and at the bottom
"is loading ...", but nothing happens.

cvvs
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:43 pm

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by cvvs » Mon May 03, 2021 2:14 am

Xavier wrote:
Fri Apr 30, 2021 7:23 pm
Hi cvs,

My gaphic card is a NVIDIA Ge Force 3070 RTX

Good flight!
OK big graphics card ..................

Isartaler
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2021 11:28 am

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by Isartaler » Mon May 03, 2021 8:57 am

I have only a RTX 2070 and it runs like a charme

cvvs
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 11:43 pm

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by cvvs » Wed May 05, 2021 3:30 am

Moi seulement une 1060, avec oculus rift c est correct avec oculus quest2 des soucis à deja avec le fil.
Je vais quand meme tester car il y a eu pas mal de mise a jour.

Mas
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:17 am

Re: Run Condor2 with VR Oc.quest and link cable

Post by Mas » Sun Jul 18, 2021 3:08 am

Oculus Air Link wireless now works so well and simple with Condor I put my Link cable away - won't ever use it again .

Post Reply