GPU / CPU for VR in Condor

Discussion about VR

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
User avatar
Snapcase
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 4:51 pm
Location: Cracow, POLAND
Contact:

GPU / CPU for VR in Condor

Post by Snapcase » Sun Jul 18, 2021 3:13 pm

Hello Condor Pilots :)

I'm going to upgrade from my old Laptop (i5-8300H + GTX1050 + 8GBRAM) for a better performace with my Quest 2


Any ideas of good CPU / GPU for VR ?

I heard that VR CPU should be good with single core performance. Thinking about ii5-11600k - not so expensive with good results on single core tests.


Now big question - how about GPU?

Does Condor limit GPU in some way? Do we need a lot of GPU memory or not? (heard that Condor could only use 3GB of GPU memory - is it true? does it matter with VR?)

I guess the answer will be - the better GPU in overal the better it will be in Condor VR.. but - does it trully corresponding with Condor VR requirements?

I'm thinking about 1070ti / 3060 / 1080 ti / / 2080

How about RAM ? 16GB will be enough? Or 32GB will be better? Anyone upgraded from 16 -> 32 and saw any difference?


Cheers :)
Wojciech Sołtysik - SOL - Poland

User avatar
wickid
Posts: 1878
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Venlo, NL
Contact:

Re: GPU / CPU for VR in Condor

Post by wickid » Sun Jul 18, 2021 3:37 pm

Condor is 32 bits. So max RAM is capped at 4 GB and max VRAM is capped at 3 GB. Usually condor uses way less than that even in VR.
PH-1504, KOE
Image

Mas
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:17 am

Re: GPU / CPU for VR in Condor

Post by Mas » Mon Jul 19, 2021 10:51 am

I use VR a lot for other things and my 6 year old i5-6600 is still fine except for Microsoft flight simulator . An I5 - 11000 you mention will be fine .

Condor is pretty forgiving in VR . I'm running an Nvidea rtx 2070 and use Oculus Quest 2 wireless at a solid 80fps and 1.2X resolulution factor so roughly 2K per eyes resolution . Anecdotally that sort of card can run a HTC Reverb G2 at 2160 X 2160 too for Condor .

Just about any good current CPU these days with 4 cores or more will be fine for VR . If you can get at least an RTX 2080 that should be just enough to run MSFS. They are very scarce and very expensive at the moment so I would look at S/H but buy wisely . I would stick with Intel CPU and Nvidea cards - updates to AMD stuff seems to break VR rigs quite often from what I see in Reddit .

Also definitely get at least 16gb RAM . Get solid state drive for sceneries too - I really found loading sceneries much faster with it .

Hope this helps .

k6chris
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2017 10:34 am

Re: GPU / CPU for VR in Condor

Post by k6chris » Mon Jul 19, 2021 11:34 am

16gb RAM should be fine. As VR headsets improve, with increased FOV and resolution, the GPU requirement will quickly grow (as you have two screens to drive!) If budget allows, a 3060 Ti or 3070 would make sense. The CPU you mention looks fine too. Just need to be able to get hold of a GPU now!

Post Reply