Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Discussion about VR

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
johnr777
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:18 am

Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Post by johnr777 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:58 am

After changing my VR headset from an Oculus Rift to a Rift S, I now get the message "Error initialising Direct3D. Check Setup - Video Options".

I have made no changes to my Condor settings and my Rift S worked straight out of the box with DCS and X Plane 11.

SETUP....GRAPHICS......VIDEO OPTIONS
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti ......Video RAM 3072 mb
FULL SCREEN MSAA SUPER SAMPLING DISABLED SETUP VR ON

I am not aware of any upgrades to Condor or Oculus that would explain the error.

Searching the Condor forums about "Errors initialising Direct3D", it appears the problem is associated with new setups. I cant find posts referring to problems after upgrading the VR headsets.

Condor works OK without the VR option selected which appears to be the norm with others with the same problem.

Any suggestions about how to resolve this problem.

Cheers

johnr777
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:18 am

Re: Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Post by johnr777 » Sun Sep 08, 2019 10:07 am

Update on my post.

It appears the problem with "initialising Direct3D" was caused by accessing a STEAM application immediately before starting Condor.

My work around solution is to avoid using any STEAM based applications until I have finished with Condor.

I later found a problem with the speakers in the Rift S. I now had an image but no sound.

In SETTINGS/SOUND there are 2 options....SOUND or 3D SOUND.

Previously I had selected 3D SOUND, but now the only way the speakers work is to select BOTH SOUND and 3DSOUND.

Although selecting both SOUND and 3DSOUND makes no sense to me, but to get the speakers to work it is the only solution I am aware of.

Hopefully my experiences with the Rift S and my "solutions" will be of benefit to someone with similar problems.

Cheers

User avatar
MarkS
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 12:31 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Post by MarkS » Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:15 am

How do you find the benefits of changing to Rift S ? FOV ? resolution ?

johnr777
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:18 am

Re: Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Post by johnr777 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:05 pm

MarkS, replacing my Rift with a Rift S was worth the cost because of the improved resolution, did not require any upgrades to my computer system, the Rift S headset is more comfortable, and prescription lenses made for the Rift S fit better within the headset and easier to clean than the lenses I used for the Rift.

The only negative for me was the much discussed built in speakers. When I was gliding in RL, as was the accepted practice, I judged my air speed by the changing sound of the wind. To achieve the same method of speed control in Condor I must use ear plugs.

I expect the Rift S will satisfy my needs for a few years when it will be time to upgrade/replace my computer and checkout the new VR Headsets.

Cheers

nbrandt
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:11 pm

Re: Error initialising Direct3D after upgrading to Rift S

Post by nbrandt » Mon Dec 23, 2019 8:10 pm

I'm having this same problem now. Can't find any stream applications to shut down. So frustrating! Any suggestions? Thank you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply