HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Discussion about VR

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

drassaud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:04 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by drassaud » Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:23 pm

janjansen wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 12:01 pm
the IGP/GPU issue is easily checked:

Image

If that shows the correct gpu, then there is no need to delve deeper.

Another thought; since MSAA doesnt seem to work with revive, check your nvidia driver settings that you are not forcing MSAA?
Did you create a condor specific profile?

Lastly, it wouldnt hurt if you posted the log files which can be found in C:\Condor2\Logs
For the first I'm sure it's the good one
The second is a good lead but I can't verifie now
And no problem for the third, I'll post it as soon as possible.

Thanks

drassaud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:04 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by drassaud » Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:14 pm

Here's my last logs file, and I check my nvidia driver settings and I'm not forcing MSAA

CONDOR LOG STARTED AT 23:06:59
Condor version: 2050
Creating splash screen.
Loading cursors.
Loading fonts.
Creating controlers.
Creating client.
Creating replay.
Creating flighttrack.
Loading GUI skins.
Loading skin hash list.
Checking skin hash list.
Saving skin hash list.
Reading language.
Writing installdir.
Reading lastplayer.
Reading defaultlandscape.
Loading Setup.
Destroying splash screen.
ENTERING SETUP.
Enumerating devices.
0: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti.
VIDEO RAM: 3072.0 Mb.
1: Microsoft Basic Render Driver.
VIDEO RAM: 0.0 Mb.
SELECTED: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti.
VIDEO RAM: 3072.0 Mb.
Monitor: \\.\DISPLAY1.
Left: 0.
Right: 1920.
Top: 0.
Bottom: 1080.
Attached to desktop: True.

ENTERING FLIGHTPLANNER.

STARTING FREE FLIGHT SIMULATION AT 23:07:33.
Debug mode: False, False.
Creating window.
Oculus Rift initialization started.
ovr_Initialize failed with error: ovr_Initialize never called.
Reading language.
Writing installdir.
Reading lastplayer.
Reading defaultlandscape.
Loading Setup.
Destroying splash screen.

SHUTTING DOWN CONDOR.
Free controlers.
Free client.
Free replay.
Free flighttrack.
Free mapbitmap.
Remove FontResources.

cos
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:45 am

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by cos » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:29 am

FYI got Condor working with Pimax. It's awesome.

Controllers were not working until I disabled support for them in Steam big picture mode settings.

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 5763
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:08 am
Contact:

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by OXO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:18 pm

cos wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:29 am
FYI got Condor working with Pimax. It's awesome.

Controllers were not working until I disabled support for them in Steam big picture mode settings.
Using revive or straight oculus? Would be nice to hear of whats better about the Pimax..
Chris Wedgwood,
Condor Team

cos
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:45 am

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by cos » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:22 pm

OXO wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:18 pm
Using revive or straight oculus? Would be nice to hear of whats better about the Pimax..
Revive, it was a bit pain to set up but managed to do it with help from this thread.

Pimax has much wider field of view than Vive. Vive is like scuba diving
mask and Pimax is like large eyeglasses with some distortion at edges.

Resolution per degree is not much better - it's still difficult to read small text but that is
not an issue in Condor. There are a plenty of video reviews of Pimax on youtube. Mine is
5k+ version.

janjansen
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by janjansen » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:32 pm

At the risk of highjacking drassaud's thread, can you run condor using the maximum (200 degree) FoV?
What is performance/hardware requirements like compared to a vive, assuming you have or had a vive to compare with?

cos
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:45 am

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by cos » Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:35 pm

janjansen wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:32 pm
At the risk of highjacking drassaud's thread, can you run condor using the maximum (200 degree) FoV?
What is performance/hardware requirements like compared to a vive, assuming you have or had a vive to compare with?
Condor is very light on hardware. I have Geforce GTX 1060 and Condor runs fine with all settings maxed out.
I have ordered a RTX 2070 because DCS World isn't that lightweight :-)

drassaud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:04 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by drassaud » Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:30 pm

It must be so cool... and it bothers me all the more not being able to launch the RV.
PLEASE HELP !!!!! :)

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 5763
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:08 am
Contact:

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by OXO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:32 pm

drassaud wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 3:30 pm
It must be so cool... and it bothers me all the more not being able to launch the RV.
PLEASE HELP !!!!! :)
I have another user in Australia who had the same problem.

He has just solved it by a full reinstall of the Oculus software.

Please try and let us know..
Chris Wedgwood,
Condor Team

AlexH
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 11:18 am
Location: Hertfordshire

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by AlexH » Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:38 pm

I might upgrade my VR headset in the near future. I am concerned about Pimax Quality Control. Would Vive Pro be a good option for Condor? I might consider the lens mod for the Vive.

janjansen
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by janjansen » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:05 pm

Not having tried any of them in condor, but being in the market for a vr set myself, If its only for condor, I think the vive pro is simply not worth the money. It has the same FoV as the regular vive, (my biggest gripe by far) you will still need to hassle with revive (and hope it works, although I see no reason it would not, but the thread starter may have a different view). The amoled screens with deeper blacks are pointless in condor what remains is basically the improved resolution. Windows WMR can offer the same resolution for a fraction of the price.

It might be a different story if you buy it for other games, and roomscale VR etc, , Though I still prefer to take a gamble on Pimax or save some money and get a WMR device.

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 5763
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:08 am
Contact:

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by OXO » Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:09 pm

Come on guys.. stay on topic please.

There’s already threads more suitable for your which headset discussion
Chris Wedgwood,
Condor Team

User avatar
dgtfer
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:49 am
Location: Marseille - france

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by dgtfer » Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:33 pm

I had the same problem (message: Error initializing Direct3D Check Setup -> Video options) until I activated the stereoscopic 3d in the Nvidia settings.
after that, it worked even when I deactivated it!
Image

drassaud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:04 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by drassaud » Sat Jan 19, 2019 9:55 am

dgtfer wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 4:33 pm
I had the same problem (message: Error initializing Direct3D Check Setup -> Video options) until I activated the stereoscopic 3d in the Nvidia settings.
after that, it worked even when I deactivated it!
I've just tryed, but same result. Thanks anyway for the idea

I'm going to do a full reinstall of the Oculus software like OXO said.

drassaud
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:04 pm

Re: HTC Vive : Error initializing Direct3D

Post by drassaud » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:15 pm

YES ! YES ! YES !!!!!!!!!
After a complete unistall and reinstall of oculus it finally worked.

Run by inject does'nt worked but drag and drop yes.

Great pleaser to fly in VR

Thanks to all peaple who helped me.

See you soon in the air :D

Post Reply