HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Discussion about VR

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Buzz77
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:30 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Buzz77 » Wed Jul 21, 2021 5:51 pm

Warning: Off Topic ;-)
Mas wrote:
Wed Jul 21, 2021 3:34 am
I think you got your history wrong about Oculus ...
I think I do not. Here are some more details if you like:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oculus_(brand)#Founding

It is the kind of company I neither will support with my money, nor with my data.
I also believe that the technology of Oculus is not bad.
And yes, I know the Google comparison and I share your arguments about it.
But that makes Facebooks and Mr. Zuckerbergs philosophie not better.
Mas wrote:
Wed Jul 21, 2021 3:34 am
Its just part of the modern world unfortunately .
Yes - unfortunately. Fortunately you can do something against it - if you like to do... :-)

End of Off Topic. ;-)

Mas
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:17 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Mas » Sun Jul 25, 2021 3:22 am

I can see the anti Facebook thing /privacy is your "thing'' . I've been using VR with Condor since it came out ( Emagin z800 headset from 2005 ) . I try not to let politics get in the way of my hobbies but I agree , when priorities differ , it is best just to respect differences.

Fingers
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 11:34 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Fingers » Thu Oct 28, 2021 2:25 am

So I installed my new Reverb G2 tonight. After a few tweaks n tunes I get IRacing looking and running fantastic. Was well worth the upgrade from the Oculus 2, very happy indeed.

But then I open Condor! ☹️ Oh dear....

Whilst it was good to find this work around if all I ran in VR was Condor, I would go for it. But it looks like it would create big problems swapping back n forth from sims using SteamVR and Oculus (which I've uninstalled).

This is a real disappointment, I was really enjoying this but if this issue has not been fixed in 1 year... I can't see it is going to be.

Great effort from Buzz to work round it, but there really should be a patch from the creators to sort this. VR is getting big and there's more than just one VR unit!

Fingers
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 11:34 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Fingers » Thu Oct 28, 2021 2:49 am

Just come across this, might be reading wrong but it looks like he's just used this revive to patch Condor without the need for the Oculus software. To late to try tonight but will give this a go in the morning.

https://github.com/LibreVR/Revive/issues/1669

Fingers
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 11:34 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Fingers » Fri Oct 29, 2021 10:21 pm

Yep, I read it wrong, well it was 1.30am and I'd had a few Jim Beams by then. Turns out it doesn't work without Oculus software.

Reinstalled it along with the other two progs mentioned and Condor loaded but got stuck on "nearly done". I could see the view and look around from within the cockpit, but that was it. A very tantalising, teasing even, look at what might be, but none shall pass. Please Mr Condor, make it so for other headsets without the need of work rounds.

So as Oculus was already installed I'm just going to keep the Oculus2 for relaxing flying. Reverb G2 for elbows out IRacing.

FlyingMan
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2021 1:07 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by FlyingMan » Mon Nov 15, 2021 3:44 pm

BillPennock wrote:
Sun Jul 11, 2021 1:07 am
I have attempted to setup everything to make this work but to no avail. I have installed windows mixed vr portal, occulous software, steam and steamVR and revive. Installing revive said success at putting a shortcut on my desktop but when I click that nothing happens. I've used the inject then select condor2.exe, nothing happens. I can attempt to start Condor from the desktop but the minute I try to start flight it errors with the error initializing Direct3D problem. dxdiag shows no problems with the installation of directx and Direct3D

I disconnected the HP G2 and set Oculus off and it works so it's something in the whole rigamaroll of the bunch of software that's doing it. Any ideas????
Hi Bill,

I had the same problem with my Oculus Quest 2. In the end I found out that my Laptop used the integrated graphics from the AMD Ryzen and not the Nvidia GPU. I had to change the general settings in the Nvidia Setup from "auto" to "use Nvidia High Performance GPU". Now it works perfectly. And it's a complete different experience.

Guy757
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 10:35 am

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Guy757 » Sat Nov 20, 2021 4:13 pm

Fingers wrote:
Fri Oct 29, 2021 10:21 pm
Yep, I read it wrong, well it was 1.30am and I'd had a few Jim Beams by then. Turns out it doesn't work without Oculus software.

Reinstalled it along with the other two progs mentioned and Condor loaded but got stuck on "nearly done". I could see the view and look around from within the cockpit, but that was it. A very tantalising, teasing even, look at what might be, but none shall pass. Please Mr Condor, make it so for other headsets without the need of work rounds.

So as Oculus was already installed I'm just going to keep the Oculus2 for relaxing flying. Reverb G2 for elbows out IRacing.
Hey @Fingers. I've just re-read my bug report and yeah, my "assumed Condor 2 is configured for VR" does mean Oculus, er sorry, Meta headset is up and running but I could have been more explicit for sure.

I've been away from Condor 2 a while and have just got a Quest 2 for non flight sim stuff but thought I'd give it a go in Condor 2. Impressive but nothing like the clarity of the Reverb G2. With the Quest 2 I need to lean in about half way to read the digits on the instruments for example. No need to move at all with the G2. Not knocking the Quest 2 in any way and it may be my current config. It is a cracking headset for the money.

I'm not sure whether there is a newer version of Revive but I may revisit using the G2 with Condor 2. I also plan to try some settings tweaks with the Quest 2 to see if I can sharpen up the instruments a little - it currently looks pretty much like it did in my Rift-S.

Just so frustrating non Meta headsets are not supported natively but equally understand VR is not a dev priority. Heck, Condor 2 is still 32-bit last time I checked! Still my favourite flight sim though :)
Image

tobias_rh
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:32 pm

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by tobias_rh » Thu Nov 25, 2021 9:38 pm

Hi everyone,

Just ordered my G2 Reverb, and I'm soon going to install it according the manual from this thread.

Did anyone recently follow the manual for doing the installation, and can confirm if it still works?

I'm asking, since the versions of the various apps involved will have changed several times since the writing of the manual..

I'll be using a brand new installation of Windows.

Thanks very much for everyone providing to these resources, super helpful!

Cheers from Zurich,
Tobias

User avatar
Ikaros
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 4:58 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: HP Reverb G2 - VR Setup Guide for Condor 2

Post by Ikaros » Mon Nov 29, 2021 4:54 pm

Hi Tobias,
I did the installation last weekend. Everything worked wonderfully. But: do not update revive.
I switched from rift to reverb - a totally new and different flying experience. :D
Ikaros

Post Reply