Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Moderators: Uros, OXO, BenFest

User avatar
congo
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by congo » Wed Nov 06, 2019 6:10 am

Modifying Condor Gauges


This tutorial is for position and size edits of the gauges, not gauge artwork.

Some of you may wish to modify your condor panel gauges for
various reasons, and if you have no experience in doing that,
this article should save you some time learning the basics.
Saying that, modifying Condor gauge script files is time consuming,
so consider that before you begin.

The gauge file (plane-name.gau) is found in your aircraft's folder.
Make a backup of your gauge file before editing it.

Basic scripting principles

Configurable gauge file scripts in Condor end with the .gau file extension.
They are "script" files in Condor. Many programs use scripts so certain
parameters can be customised via plain text. Condor reads the .gau file
text as code to configure the gauges onto the panels.

There are other files in Condor used to create the gauges, like .c3d files
and gauge artwork, usually in the form of bitmaps (.bmp), they are not
being dealt with here. We are only concerned here with the .gau scripts.

Any text other than valid scripting parameters or symbols can cause an
error and Condor may crash, blue screen or freeze.

Be perfectly accurate and use methodology with your scripting, or you will
have problems. If you break a gauge with your edits, you can break Condor,
it may blue screen with an error message that may help diagnose the gauge
that you broke :)

// By using "//" at the BEGINNING of a line in
// this script code, you effectively cancel that
// line of code, as the program now ignores that
// line. You can also use "//" to write remarks or
// notes within your custom scripts, as I have
// done here.

Use Ctrl+X, Ctrl +C and Ctrl+V to Cut, Copy and Paste lines of scripting
code after highlighting it with your mouse, then change the parameter to
the desired value.

Save your edits regularly, there is nothing quite like spending hours on
an edit, then losing it all because you didn't save your work.
It also pays to make seperate backups, in case you overwrite your file with
corrupt data.

___________________________________


If you wish to test a gauge value but you are not sure about it, and/or you
wish to keep the original value in case you need to restore it, then do this:

Add a double slash in front of the gauge parameter you wish to change,
this will disable that line of script, and that line becomes your backup code.
.... example:

//PosX=1.433

Copy it like this; create a new line with keyboard RETURN, and copy the
gauge parameter to the beginning of the next line....

//PosX=1.433
PosX=1.433

Alter the value of the copied code;
PosX=1.435
This moves the gauge 2mm towards the aircraft nose. (See Note * below)

Now you have this -
//PosX=1.433
PosX=1.435

You still have the original line of code above if you need to replace or
reference it for new changes. Once the panel edits are complete, you can
clean up your script by removing all the backup lines.

__________________________________


Panels and gauges are three dimensional,

Adjustments are by trial and error,

Values are approx. in Metres, ....... therefore, 0.001 = approx. 1mm

Three decimal places is accurate to approx. 1mm, lines like
"PosY=-0.185999944806099" should be rounded to "PosY=-0.186"
to make editing easier and less confusing.

From Central Panel Datum Point: (arbitrary for each aircraft)

X = Fore (+) , Aft (-)
Y = Left (-) , Right (+)
Z = Up (+) , Down (-)
YAxisRotation = gauge tilt, top to bottom, (+ , -)
Example: YAxisRotation=0.13

a, b and c values govern the non-linearity of some gauges, do not alter them!

Certain values are suffixed with an "E-number", like
"PosY=-4.18594544806099E-8"
For all practical purposes, these numbers can be replaced with "0", really, it's that easy, the long number
is a mathematical expression, it can be ignored or replaced if you wish, but it basicly means the center datum in that axis,
in the case above, it places the center of the gauge in the center of the panel from left to right.

When writing the values, you need to specify "-" for negative values,
otherwise the value remains positive, no "+" is required or desired.

___________________________________


Note*
Be careful with the X axis, you can screw up the 3D gauges and they
can either hide behind the panel or protrude into the cockpit. The 3D
panel faces and panel parts cast shadows onto the panel. Make small
changes in the X axis until you get the hang of it.

On a sloping panel, the X axis will need to be changed to keep the gauge
flush with the panel surface, or rather, with the face of the gauge slightly
protruding from the panel. The approximate correct adjustment of X axis
can be tested in VR, detected as you move the view around in 2D, or seen
as the sun passes over the panel's edge during flight..... you will see a
shadow cast from the protruding gauge. The size of the shadow can indicate
a gauge that protrudes too far into the cockpit.

If a gauge disappears, it is either placed way outside the panel by mistake,
or it is hiding behind the panel, or you made some other scripting error.
(X axis, is the more usual error, it only takes 1 or 2 mm too far forward
and the gauge hides behind the panel),

To make the gauge visible again, reduce the X axis slowly, and the gauge
face will re-emerge, as the panels are not all flat and vertical, sometimes
they slope and/or "cant" in sections. If the gauge is still hidden, revert to
a previously saved value and start again.

Personally, I have sometimes found some weird effects while editing the
panels, the errors seemed impossible to correct. My best advice is to begin
over again at a point previous to where the problems started, as diagnosis
can be difficult, particularly if you cannot see your mistake.


Good Luck
Congo (CN 55)
Last edited by congo on Wed Sep 01, 2021 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

MrHerisson
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:11 pm

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by MrHerisson » Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:51 am

Hi,
would there be a simple and easy way to make them slightly bigger (resize and then most probably move them if they overlap) as I sometimes I feel it hard to read them (the little numbers i mean)
Image

User avatar
wickid
Posts: 2429
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Venlo, NL
Contact:

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by wickid » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:13 am

MrHerisson wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:51 am
Hi,
would there be a simple and easy way to make them slightly bigger (resize and then most probably move them if they overlap) as I sometimes I feel it hard to read them (the little numbers i mean)
Quick and easy way is buying a bigger screen. Otherwise you'd have to fiddle with the files as Congo describes above.

Congo, can you maybe post some screenshots. I'm curious to what you have done
PH-1504, KOE

MrHerisson
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 9:11 pm

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by MrHerisson » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:19 am

Bigger screen...lol... :lol: :lol:

Unless I misread, he speaks about relocating the gauges, not resizing them.
Image

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 6360
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:08 am
Location: France 42
Contact:

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by OXO » Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:52 am

I don't recommend doing this because your changes will be removed when you install a patch or hangar update.
Chris Wedgwood,
Condor Team

User avatar
congo
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by congo » Wed Nov 06, 2019 12:10 pm

MrHerisson wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:19 am
Bigger screen...lol... :lol: :lol:

Unless I misread, he speaks about relocating the gauges, not resizing them.
Umm, read the first sentence in the tutorial above.

MrHerisson wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 9:51 am
Hi,
would there be a simple and easy way to make them slightly bigger (resize and then most probably move them if they overlap) as I sometimes I feel it hard to read them (the little numbers i mean)
That is what the tutorial is about.

You use the "scale=" parameter.

Like I said in the tutorial, it's trial and error to get what you want.

Also, OXO is right, Condor patches and updates will overwrite your changes,
so you need to back them up outside of the game if you want to install them again.

In my many years playing Condor, I haven't actually noticed that the .gau files are
updated with any new patch, however, the same old files are included in the new
patches, and they will overwrite your hard work, so back up any changes you want to keep.

To wicked,
I will upload some screenshots when I get time.
Image

User avatar
congo
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by congo » Wed Nov 06, 2019 12:50 pm

Ok wicked, a couple of examples which include my gauge art mods for flap ring ASI's.

These panels are not intended to be realistic, just easy for me to read while racing.

Also, you'll note that there is no altimeter on the panel, as panel real estate is at a
premium, and I will often hide the altimeter behind the panel as I don't use it,
preferring to reference the Electric Vario where the altitude is displayed digitally.

Click on the pics to enlarge :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by congo on Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:18 am, edited 3 times in total.
Image

Rotareneg
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:59 am

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by Rotareneg » Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:48 pm

Certain values are suffixed with an "E-number", like
"PosY=-4.18594544806099E-8"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scientific_notation
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1790
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by Bre901 » Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:41 pm

Rotareneg wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 3:48 pm
Certain values are suffixed with an "E-number", like
"PosY=-4.18594544806099E-8"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scientific_notation
That peculiar value may be safely replaced by 0.0
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
congo
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by congo » Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:45 am

Thank you for that explanation and advice.
Image

Adrianav8r
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by Adrianav8r » Wed Nov 13, 2019 1:03 pm

Hello, I accidentally downloaded a ASI in knots for the Ventus from the 'Goodies' menu. I far prefer the km/h guage, but I don't know how to get it back. Please help.

User avatar
Andy1248
Posts: 1423
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Biggleswade, Bedfordshire

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by Andy1248 » Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:54 pm

Have a look on Condor Club, information about the Goodies installer:

http://www.condor-club.eu/generic/169/

This is the relevant text:

Note: Even if the tool makes a copy of replaced files, I strongly recommend to backup all original .BMP, .TGA and .WAV files present in \Gauges, \GUI, \Planes (and subdirectories), \Sound, \World\Textures.

Original filename are renamed with ".ori" extension. If you wish to restore one, for example "main.bmp", delete "main.bmp" and rename "main.bmp.ori" to "main.bmp".

This should help you sort it out.
Condor CN = E20

Adrianav8r
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by Adrianav8r » Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:35 pm

Thank-you, Andy. I did not however make a backup of my old files. Does that mean it is lost forever?

User avatar
wickid
Posts: 2429
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Venlo, NL
Contact:

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by wickid » Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:33 pm

Reinstalling the Hangar update from the download page brings everything having to to with the planes back to default.
PH-1504, KOE

User avatar
congo
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 10:21 am
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Modifying Condor Gauges - Basic Tutorial

Post by congo » Sun Nov 17, 2019 5:33 pm

Adrianav8r wrote:
Wed Nov 13, 2019 1:03 pm
Hello, I accidentally downloaded a ASI in knots for the Ventus from the 'Goodies' menu. I far prefer the km/h guage, but I don't know how to get it back. Please help.
Like wicked said above.

However, that should not happen, as they are totally different files.
The metric file is named "speed-face.bmp" and the knots (imperial) ASI is named "speed-i-face.bmp".

You choose the ASI setting in your SETUP / OPTIONS / UNITS, (Metric, Imperial or Australian).
If you are set to Metric, you should see the ASI in kph. It's possible that the "goody" in question
had the wrong file or filename associated with it.
Image

Post Reply