Scenery calibration range issue

Moderators: Uros, OXO, JBr

Post Reply
NickB
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:07 am

Scenery calibration range issue

Post by NickB » Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:36 pm

Condor V2 doesn't load scenery and pops up an error message and endless access violation errors. No error message in log file, but it stops at loading the flight-planner. I traced it to a calibration range issue. I adjusted the DeltaX calibration up slowly from -74 until it loaded. At -80, it loaded OK, anything below that causes a crash. So it looks like the allowed calibration range is limited. This scenery was originally done in Condor V1 and it worked and had no issues.

The V2 'Landscape Editor' has no trouble with the calibration (with DeltaX -74) and shows the airports and all objects in the right locations. So it is only an issue with Condor V2 itself.

Link to landscape that doesn't load due to calibration range:
https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate ... B2C72671C4

User avatar
Andy1248
Posts: 1348
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 3:06 pm
Location: Biggleswade, Bedfordshire

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by Andy1248 » Fri Feb 26, 2021 11:17 pm

Deleted
Condor CN = E20

User avatar
dgtfer
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:49 am
Location: Marseille - france

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by dgtfer » Sat Feb 27, 2021 10:17 am

NickB wrote:
Fri Feb 26, 2021 4:36 pm
The V2 'Landscape Editor' has no trouble with the calibration (with DeltaX -74) and shows the airports and all objects in the right locations. So it is only an issue with Condor V2 itself.
It's not a Condor issue, that scenery suffers from a massive decalibration problem, with E-W distances wrong by more than 25%!
Image

NickB
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:07 am

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by NickB » Sat Feb 27, 2021 4:38 pm

This is not my scenery and I do not have the original data, and am converting it to make it available for the area. I have done the same with the recently published RockyMountains-2 using 'Condor_Tiles'. GarnerGP-2 took 25 minutes to convert and RockyMountains-2 took 45 minutes to convert.

The original Condor V1 version of this scenery required 20% calibration, and was running OK, and that's what calibration is for, and is built-in to both Condor V1 and Condor V2. See V1 version of scenery on Condor.club. Saying this is not a Condor issue because the calibration is 20% is incorrect. Calibration is built-in to Condor and the 'Landscape editor' loads the scenery and displays airports and objects properly on the calibrated scenery.

What has changed is that Condor V1 allowed for 20% (+) calibration, but Condor V2 seems to have only a 10% range before it crashes. Reducing the calibration allows Condor V2 to run, but then the calibration is wrong. There doesn't seem to be a range check, since it crashes instead of simply erroring out with a message 'calibration out of range', and this points more to a calculation error, not a range-check error. Also, since the 'Landscape editor' works fine, it means there is nothing inherently wrong with the scenery and its calibration.

Therefore, the calculation error should be fixed in V2. If there is a reason to limit the calibration in V2, that's OK, simply do a range check and show a message. 'The Landscape Editor' should reflect the same limitation as well.

Here is a link for the terrain file with a calibration change for the X axis from -74 to -80, which allows Condor V2 to load the scenery without crashing:
https://www.asuswebstorage.com/navigate ... 6B4924F1A4

User avatar
dgtfer
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:49 am
Location: Marseille - france

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by dgtfer » Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:27 pm

NickB wrote:
Sat Feb 27, 2021 4:38 pm
GarnerGP-2 took 25 minutes to convert...
...that's what calibration is for...
Sorry but no! The fact that the objects and airfields are in a correct relative position inside the scenery does not mean that there is no error.
And producing a (very) poor quality scenery like that (but properly calibrated, and with a better resolution DEM) do not need more than 1 or 2 hours of real work, so I don't think it is worth the 25 minutes for conversion.
Image

NickB
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:07 am

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by NickB » Sat Feb 27, 2021 9:31 pm

The question is NOT about the quality of the imagery, it is about the 'calibration range'. Whether the X axis is scaled by 1% or 10% or 20%, it is just a scaling factor, 1.01, 1.10 or 1.20. The scaling factor is irrelevant relative to the 'satellite imagery' quality.

User avatar
dgtfer
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:49 am
Location: Marseille - france

Re: Scenery calibration range issue

Post by dgtfer » Sun Feb 28, 2021 8:45 am

Since Condor2, calibration is not a matter of approximation. It is totally defined by the chosen UTM zone and the coordinates of the origin point.
There is no need for dimensional scaling. This is perfectly described in JBR manual.
All the sceneries for Condor2 are now perfectly calibrated, the use of obsolete method would be going backward, with a loss of quality.
Image

Post Reply