Landscape Realism Requests (to Condor devs)

Moderators: Uros, OXO, JBr

bluefang

Landscape Realism Requests (to Condor devs)

Post by bluefang » Mon Jul 06, 2020 4:27 am

There have been several posts in the past about Landscape developers spending the extra effort in making their landscape as realistic as possible.

As a landscape developer, I 100% agree.

However, I feel like us landscape developers are ignored by the Condor devs. It seems like 90% of the devs' effort is spent towards releasing new planes (I mean, this makes sense, as this is where the revenue is) - and 10% is towards new features and bug fixing - to keep the users happy.

Here are some things which would greatly improve the quality of life for us landscape developers (here in the US we need all of the quality of life buffs we can get - we are struggling right now with horrible politics and a crazy pandemic):

• Landscape Editor Zoom, Pan, and Select - this is honestly not that difficult (and yes, I have developed several Win32 graphical editing tools in my past). There is even a world-wide industry standard to go by. Scroll wheel zooms, and for pan, either right click and hold or you could adopt the Photoshop standard of space-bar and left click. Seriously... having a different "state" or tool to select just to zoom and pan is painful - especially when you want to zoom and pan with another tool selected, like the tree or elevation tool.
  • Better elevation map tools - I may be in the minority here, but many runways in real life are not completely flat. In fact, the runway at my local club has an elevation change of 20 meters. Seriously. It is intimidating to new pilots, and having a way to simulate this in Condor would be absolutely mind-blowingly helpful.