Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Moderator: BOD1

zweiflamme
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:56 am

Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by zweiflamme » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:32 am

Hello all,

I hope I am in the right place regarding my question.

I‘m using LK8000 7.1; which is accepting tasks in CUP and LKT format. I’ve been using Condor2Nav a couple of years ago, but as it seems it only supports the „old“ LK8000 task format generating .tsk files.

Does anybody have a hint for me?

Best regards
Dennis

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Wed Apr 15, 2020 9:54 am

Before asking that question (wrong forum BTW), you could have done a search for LK8000

... on the first results page, you would have seen that thread : viewtopic.php?f=29&t=17968&hilit=lk8000
CN : MPT

zweiflamme
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2020 8:56 am

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by zweiflamme » Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:45 pm

My apologies. I had found the regarding thread but thought it was about connecting Condor and LK8000 via WIFI (which is working fine for me).

Thank you for the hint, C2LK is working great as it should.

Best regards
Dennis

JBlyth
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by JBlyth » Wed Apr 29, 2020 8:30 am

Hi Dennis,

How did you get C2LK working? I am still having problems with it having no turn points and an error to do with FAI turn points.

Cheers
John

mikkieg42
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by mikkieg42 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:48 pm

I am also looking to convert to LK8000. I think that C2LK uses the existing waypoints in the condor cup files so any "new" waypoints set in the condor task don't get converted?
I'm looking at writing my own convertor but not started this yet.

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:15 pm

mikkieg42 wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:48 pm
I am also looking to convert to LK8000. I think that C2LK uses the existing waypoints in the condor cup files so any "new" waypoints set in the condor task don't get converted?
I'm looking at writing my own convertor but not started this yet.
Don't hurry, someone has already started and if I find time, I might add that option in CoTaCo, some day

Why the f... didn't XCSoar and LK8000 find a way to have a common task format :roll: :roll:
CN : MPT

JBlyth
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by JBlyth » Mon May 04, 2020 10:51 am

I hope you find the time, Bre901. The only other Condor 2 to LK8000 task exporter I have found doesn't seem to work for me.

I would most warmly encourage you to add LK8000 compatibility to your utility....

Many thanks
John in Sunny Carnarvon - Western Australia.

mikkieg42
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by mikkieg42 » Sat May 09, 2020 1:39 pm

ok, I will hold off for the moment, am using xcsoar at the moment but really want to use LK8000 as that's what I use in reallife.

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Sat May 09, 2020 2:18 pm

If someone could give me examples of LK8000 files (the ideal would be to have the corresponding fpl's) and/or a documentation on the format (whatever the language) it wouldn't take me much time to add a function in CoTaCo that just writes the file

... if I don't have to spend time searching for information LK8000 users should be able to provide

In the meantime, wouldn't there be somewhere a converter between LK8000 and XCSoar, (possibly through SeeYou) ?
CN : MPT

mikkieg42
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by mikkieg42 » Sat May 09, 2020 2:31 pm

I will get the fpl, xcsoar and lk8000 files and post them. Not tried using seeyou to convert, will check, but there's not much time between the task beng posted and the race start so this may be a problem.

LK8000 will read the tasks that are at the bottom of a cup file so this maybe an option as well.

JBlyth
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by JBlyth » Sat May 09, 2020 2:40 pm

Here you are...

Condor .fpl corresponding task attached.

LK8000 version below - as I couldn't upload it here in the .lkt format....

Let me know if I can provide anything else....

Cheers
John in Sunny Carnarvon - Western Australia.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<lk-task type="Default">
<options auto-advance="Auto">
<start type="line" radius="3000.000000"/>
<finish type="line" Radius="1000.000000"/>
<sector type="sector" Radius="5000.000000"/>
<rules>
<finish fai-height="false" min-height="0"/>
<start max-height="0" max-height-margin="0" max-speed="0" max-speed-margin="0" height-ref="AGL"/>
</rules>
</options>
<taskpoints>
<point idx="0" name="START070520"/>
<point idx="1" name="L141 Acheron"/>
<point idx="2" name="TP2 070520"/>
<point idx="3" name="Ashley River"/>
<point idx="4" name="Springfield"/>
</taskpoints>
<waypoints>
<point name="START070520" latitude="-43.343400" longitude="171.870883" altitude="645.000000" flags="2" format="2" style="1"/>
<point name="TP2 070520" latitude="-42.983050" longitude="172.120767" altitude="1575.000000" flags="2" format="2" style="1"/>
<point name="Springfield" latitude="-43.382800" longitude="171.911450" altitude="368.000000" flags="5" format="2" freq="0" runwayLen="800" runwayDir="260" style="5"/>
<point name="L141 Acheron" latitude="-43.318333" longitude="171.680000" altitude="1161.000000" flags="2" code="L141 Ach" format="2" style="1"/>
<point name="Ashley River" latitude="-43.277967" longitude="172.702383" altitude="5.000000" flags="2" code="Ashley R" format="2" style="1"/>
</waypoints>
</lk-task>
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Sat May 09, 2020 2:51 pm

Thanks, I guess I'll be able to take a look at that early next week

It doesn't look not too complicated actually
CN : MPT

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Mon May 11, 2020 2:24 pm

Work has begun

I have downloaded LK8000 and the documentation ... and tried to read the (many) manual(s) : you have to read 4 large pdf files not to be up-to-date (no version 7 manual available)

From my first tests I understand that it is not possible to have different waypoint types in a task (if I change one, all of them get changed to the same type - for me yet another reason to stick with XCSoar for Condor)

Question to LK8000 users :

as it happens quite often that Condor tasks have different waypoint types (and radiuses) what shall we assume ?
- FAI / 3 km for all ?
- most frequently used ?
CN : MPT

JBlyth
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by JBlyth » Mon May 11, 2020 2:51 pm

I'm no expert on Tasks in LK8000, but I am a long time user.

I would suggest as a starting point an option to use FAI sectors or AAT tasks would be sufficient. Line starts and finishes would be fine too, and Auto Advance. There are other options in the System Setup Page 14 - Tasks. These include Cylinder, FAI Sector, DAe 0.5/10, and Line.

I agree the manuals are a bit of a mess and haven't really kept up with the development of the software, but the free ware developers do the best they can.

If you try creating a task, you will see there are quite a number of options available.

I'm very happy to help test things if you wish. Ask away, and I will try and help.....

Cheers
John in Sunny Carnarvon - Western Australia

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 903
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Exporting Tasks to LK8000

Post by Bre901 » Mon May 11, 2020 3:24 pm

When retrieving the information from the .cup or the .apt file does anyone care about the following information ?
Runway Direction
Runway Length
Airport Frequency
Description
CN : MPT

Post Reply