Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
bluefang
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:55 am
Location: South East, USA

Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by bluefang » Sat Jun 12, 2021 6:51 am

This is crazy... I am baffled. I have been using Condor without any issues for over 5 years. Suddenly, after launching a Condor session today, things got really weird. The Condor Launcher opens up as normal, and displays the Flight Plan. I am using the exact same Flight Plan I was flying yesterday. When I hit the "Start Flight" button - everything hangs (the Flight Plan screen stays on screen and if I click it I see a windows wait cursor). If I try to "Alt-tab" to the Task Manager, sometimes it will complain that Condor has stopped working, sometimes it will not complain, sometimes it will crash, and sometimes if I leave it alone for several minutes, it will finally switch to the Landscape loading screen and load the landscape just fine (the landscape loading screen loads the landscape at a normal rate). If it gets to this state, I can indeed fly, but my FPS is a lot slower than normal.

This is baffling.

Condor is installed on an SSD drive. The drive is working just fine and has about 300GB free space. My 'C' drive has about 200GB of space - even though Condor is not installed on my 'C' drive.

My PC is pretty hefty:

Core i7 8700 @3.2GHz
48 GB RAM
NVidia 1080 graphics card

I have re-installed Condor from scratch. It didn't have an effect on this issue.

I don't even know where to begin to diagnose the issue. I have never seen this before. I didn't change anything from yesterday (when Condor was working just fine) to today.

Any help?


most of the time it just hangs here:
condor-bug.jpg
and sometimes it actually reports a crash:
condor-crash.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by Bre901 » Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:02 am

Any Windows or anti-virus recent update ?

I would recommend have the task manager open on the Performance/Processor tab to see if it is a CPU issue
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
BOD1
Posts: 1939
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Brittany, France
Contact:

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by BOD1 » Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:36 am

Anything in log file? In Windows event log?
Image
Please use this button to send me a PM, Forum messaging is too limited.
Image

bluefang
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:55 am
Location: South East, USA

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by bluefang » Sat Jun 12, 2021 11:06 pm

Everything is back to normal today. So strange. I think it was ground-loop gremlins - as it was raining really hard last night when I was trying to run Condor and I have noticed previously that the power in my garage (where my sim computer is) - sometimes behaves really strangely when it is raining hard. I have a fairly modern computer (Alienware Aurora R7) - and you would think that its power supply would be immune to ground issues - but not sure.

It is really difficult to debug the issue without access to any kind of logs. I will attach the Windows Event log - but I can't really determine anything from it.

Something was hanging Condor's main event loop as soon as I hit the "Start Flight" button - as I noticed that I couldn't drag any of the windows around and also, if I clicked on the Flight Planner window - the background would go black - hinting that the GUI event loop wasn't getting any process cycles to refresh the Window. The CPU value in Task Manager for Condor did not seem to be stressed.

Usually when hitting the "Start Flight" button there is hardly any delay before launching the Loading screen - however, whenever this issue was happening Condor completely locked up as soon as I would hit the "Start Flight" button. Maybe it was USB hardware hub related - although all of my USB peripherals were working.

I think only the dev (is that Uros?) can give insight in to what exactly is going on once you hit the "Start Flight" button. My guess is something I/O driven on the main event loop is hanging the app - though, I/O stuff should never be on the main event loop.

Condor seemed to be the only application that was effected by whatever was happening, as I was able to launch and use other games and apps just fine - Photoshop was running flawlessly, and I also tried several games, which all ran smoothly.

So strange.

Here is the windows event log from one of the hangs:

Code: Select all

Version=1
EventType=AppHangB1
EventTime=132679460791222821
ReportType=3
Consent=1
UploadTime=132679460833108219
ReportStatus=268435456
ReportIdentifier=5fe4d6f5-cd79-4f34-b0ed-d493ac5b6365
IntegratorReportIdentifier=1e38b243-fcad-4a1c-9d80-953b9f3f11f1
Wow64Host=34404
Wow64Guest=332
NsAppName=Condor.exe
AppSessionGuid=00003dcc-0002-0021-3aaf-0bfb435fd701
TargetAppId=W:0006e1659086d29a261c2fd263767cfb853c00000908!0000776557cf9e2ca089b5f0f627e95b5f678955c189!Condor.exe
TargetAppVer=1992//06//19:22:22:17!3d9c85!Condor.exe
BootId=4294967295
TargetAsId=1303
IsFatal=1
EtwNonCollectReason=1
Response.BucketId=e49426e2ec97c212d3c774f6ed9a6c04
Response.BucketTable=5
Response.LegacyBucketId=1425236410983148548
Response.type=4
Sig[0].Name=Application Name
Sig[0].Value=Condor.exe
Sig[1].Name=Application Version
Sig[1].Value=2.1.6.0
Sig[2].Name=Application Timestamp
Sig[2].Value=2a425e19
Sig[3].Name=Hang Signature
Sig[3].Value=2b69
Sig[4].Name=Hang Type
Sig[4].Value=134217728
DynamicSig[1].Name=OS Version
DynamicSig[1].Value=10.0.19041.2.0.0.768.101
DynamicSig[2].Name=Locale ID
DynamicSig[2].Value=1033
DynamicSig[22].Name=Additional Hang Signature 1
DynamicSig[22].Value=2b69eb8b6b3bbc0a22374ea71fe783a0
DynamicSig[23].Name=Additional Hang Signature 2
DynamicSig[23].Value=151e
DynamicSig[24].Name=Additional Hang Signature 3
DynamicSig[24].Value=151e3f66ecb0b741d398a46701a0ad7a
DynamicSig[25].Name=Additional Hang Signature 4
DynamicSig[25].Value=2b69
DynamicSig[26].Name=Additional Hang Signature 5
DynamicSig[26].Value=2b69eb8b6b3bbc0a22374ea71fe783a0
DynamicSig[27].Name=Additional Hang Signature 6
DynamicSig[27].Value=151e
DynamicSig[28].Name=Additional Hang Signature 7
DynamicSig[28].Value=151e3f66ecb0b741d398a46701a0ad7a
UI[3]=Condor - The Complete Soaring Simulator is not responding
UI[4]=If you close the program, you might lose information.
UI[5]=Close the program
UI[6]=Close the program
UI[7]=Close the program
LoadedModule[0]=G:\Condor2\Condor.exe
LoadedModule[1]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll
LoadedModule[2]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNEL32.DLL
LoadedModule[3]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\KERNELBASE.dll
LoadedModule[4]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\oleaut32.dll
LoadedModule[5]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcp_win.dll
LoadedModule[6]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ucrtbase.dll
LoadedModule[7]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\combase.dll
LoadedModule[8]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\RPCRT4.dll
LoadedModule[9]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\advapi32.dll
LoadedModule[10]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\msvcrt.dll
LoadedModule[11]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\sechost.dll
LoadedModule[12]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\user32.dll
LoadedModule[13]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\win32u.dll
LoadedModule[14]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\GDI32.dll
LoadedModule[15]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\gdi32full.dll
LoadedModule[16]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\ole32.dll
LoadedModule[17]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\shell32.dll
LoadedModule[18]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\version.dll
LoadedModule[19]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_5.82.19041.844_none_89e26e970b35ab92\comctl32.dll
LoadedModule[20]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winspool.drv
LoadedModule[21]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wsock32.dll
LoadedModule[22]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dxgi.dll
LoadedModule[23]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\WS2_32.dll
LoadedModule[24]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\d3d11.dll
LoadedModule[25]=G:\Condor2\D3DX.dll
LoadedModule[26]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winmm.dll
LoadedModule[27]=G:\Condor2\LibOVR.dll
LoadedModule[28]=G:\Condor2\d3dx11_43.dll
LoadedModule[29]=G:\Condor2\d3dx11Effects_JSB.dll
LoadedModule[30]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DDRAW.dll
LoadedModule[31]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\kernel.appcore.dll
LoadedModule[32]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DCIMAN32.dll
LoadedModule[33]=G:\Condor2\D3DCOMPILER_43.dll
LoadedModule[34]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.vc90.crt_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_9.0.30729.9625_none_508ef7e4bcbbe589\MSVCR90.dll
LoadedModule[35]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\IMM32.DLL
LoadedModule[36]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\uxtheme.dll
LoadedModule[37]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\MSCTF.dll
LoadedModule[38]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\D3DXOF.DLL
LoadedModule[39]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DSound.dll
LoadedModule[40]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\powrprof.dll
LoadedModule[41]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\winmmbase.dll
LoadedModule[42]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\UMPDC.dll
LoadedModule[43]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
LoadedModule[44]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\msimg32.dll
LoadedModule[45]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dwmapi.dll
LoadedModule[46]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\windows.storage.dll
LoadedModule[47]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Wldp.dll
LoadedModule[48]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SHCORE.dll
LoadedModule[49]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\shlwapi.dll
LoadedModule[50]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DInput8.dll
LoadedModule[51]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\inputhost.dll
LoadedModule[52]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wintypes.dll
LoadedModule[53]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\PROPSYS.dll
LoadedModule[54]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CoreMessaging.dll
LoadedModule[55]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CoreUIComponents.dll
LoadedModule[56]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntmarta.dll
LoadedModule[57]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DPlayX.dll
LoadedModule[58]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.gdiplus_6595b64144ccf1df_1.1.19041.1023_none_d94e0b13e107593b\GDIPlus.dll
LoadedModule[59]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\TextShaping.dll
LoadedModule[60]=C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_microsoft.windows.common-controls_6595b64144ccf1df_6.0.19041.844_none_11adecdf30011423\comctl32.DLL
LoadedModule[61]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\textinputframework.dll
LoadedModule[62]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\Oleacc.dll
LoadedModule[63]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\HID.DLL
LoadedModule[64]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\SETUPAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[65]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\cfgmgr32.dll
LoadedModule[66]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\bcrypt.dll
LoadedModule[67]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DEVOBJ.dll
LoadedModule[68]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\WINTRUST.dll
LoadedModule[69]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\CRYPT32.dll
LoadedModule[70]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\MSASN1.dll
LoadedModule[71]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\clbcatq.dll
LoadedModule[72]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wbemdisp.dll
LoadedModule[73]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\wbemcomn.dll
LoadedModule[74]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wbemprox.dll
LoadedModule[75]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\sxs.dll
LoadedModule[76]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wmiutils.dll
LoadedModule[77]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\IPHLPAPI.DLL
LoadedModule[78]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\mswsock.dll
LoadedModule[79]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DNSAPI.dll
LoadedModule[80]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\NSI.dll
LoadedModule[81]=C:\Windows\System32\rasadhlp.dll
LoadedModule[82]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\wbemsvc.dll
LoadedModule[83]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wbem\fastprox.dll
LoadedModule[84]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\amsi.dll
LoadedModule[85]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\USERENV.dll
LoadedModule[86]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\profapi.dll
LoadedModule[87]=C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Platform\4.18.2105.5-0\X86\MpOav.dll
LoadedModule[88]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nvddi.inf_amd64_162f82a322513eb8\nvldumd.dll
LoadedModule[89]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\cryptnet.dll
LoadedModule[90]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\cryptbase.dll
LoadedModule[91]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\imagehlp.dll
LoadedModule[92]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CRYPTSP.dll
LoadedModule[93]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\rsaenh.dll
LoadedModule[94]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository\nvddi.inf_amd64_162f82a322513eb8\nvwgf2um.dll
LoadedModule[95]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\nvspcap.dll
LoadedModule[96]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\dxcore.dll
LoadedModule[97]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WindowsCodecs.dll
LoadedModule[98]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\napinsp.dll
LoadedModule[99]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\pnrpnsp.dll
LoadedModule[100]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\wshbth.dll
LoadedModule[101]=C:\WINDOWS\system32\NLAapi.dll
LoadedModule[102]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\winrnr.dll
LoadedModule[103]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\fwpuclnt.dll
LoadedModule[104]=C:\Program Files (x86)\NaturalPoint\TrackIR5\NPClient.dll
LoadedModule[105]=C:\WINDOWS\System32\MMDevApi.dll
LoadedModule[106]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUDIOSES.DLL
LoadedModule[107]=C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\resourcepolicyclient.dll
State[0].Key=Transport.DoneStage1
State[0].Value=1
OsInfo[0].Key=vermaj
OsInfo[0].Value=10
OsInfo[1].Key=vermin
OsInfo[1].Value=0
OsInfo[2].Key=verbld
OsInfo[2].Value=19041
OsInfo[3].Key=ubr
OsInfo[3].Value=1052
OsInfo[4].Key=versp
OsInfo[4].Value=0
OsInfo[5].Key=arch
OsInfo[5].Value=9
OsInfo[6].Key=lcid
OsInfo[6].Value=1033
OsInfo[7].Key=geoid
OsInfo[7].Value=244
OsInfo[8].Key=sku
OsInfo[8].Value=101
OsInfo[9].Key=domain
OsInfo[9].Value=0
OsInfo[10].Key=prodsuite
OsInfo[10].Value=768
OsInfo[11].Key=ntprodtype
OsInfo[11].Value=1
OsInfo[12].Key=platid
OsInfo[12].Value=10
OsInfo[13].Key=sr
OsInfo[13].Value=0
OsInfo[14].Key=tmsi
OsInfo[14].Value=221129728
OsInfo[15].Key=osinsty
OsInfo[15].Value=1
OsInfo[16].Key=iever
OsInfo[16].Value=11.789.19041.0-11.0.1000
OsInfo[17].Key=portos
OsInfo[17].Value=0
OsInfo[18].Key=ram
OsInfo[18].Value=48962
OsInfo[19].Key=svolsz
OsInfo[19].Value=465
OsInfo[20].Key=wimbt
OsInfo[20].Value=0
OsInfo[21].Key=blddt
OsInfo[21].Value=191206
OsInfo[22].Key=bldtm
OsInfo[22].Value=1406
OsInfo[23].Key=bldbrch
OsInfo[23].Value=vb_release
OsInfo[24].Key=bldchk
OsInfo[24].Value=0
OsInfo[25].Key=wpvermaj
OsInfo[25].Value=0
OsInfo[26].Key=wpvermin
OsInfo[26].Value=0
OsInfo[27].Key=wpbuildmaj
OsInfo[27].Value=0
OsInfo[28].Key=wpbuildmin
OsInfo[28].Value=0
OsInfo[29].Key=osver
OsInfo[29].Value=10.0.19041.1052.amd64fre.vb_release.191206-1406
OsInfo[30].Key=buildflightid
OsInfo[30].Value=E7366588-F2C5-4AC2-A608-3A0B9AE796D3.1
OsInfo[31].Key=edition
OsInfo[31].Value=Core
OsInfo[32].Key=ring
OsInfo[33].Key=expid
OsInfo[34].Key=fconid
OsInfo[35].Key=containerid
OsInfo[36].Key=containertype
OsInfo[37].Key=edu
OsInfo[37].Value=0
FriendlyEventName=Stopped responding and was closed
ConsentKey=AppHangXProcB1
AppName=Condor - The Complete Soaring Simulator
AppPath=G:\Condor2\Condor.exe
ReportDescription=A problem caused this program to stop interacting with Windows.
NsPartner=windows
NsGroup=windows8
ApplicationIdentity=8FEB3DCE7BE53B8B7C71748D6D225AB2
MetadataHash=1082474480
Image

User avatar
EDB
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:17 am
Location: The Netherlands, Europe Continent, Earth Planet, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super Cluster

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by EDB » Sun Jun 13, 2021 9:45 am

How often do you update Windows 10?
Version 1904 is from April 2019. Current version is 21H1...

If there is a Condor issue, Uros may need the Condor logs I think...

With all the rain, etc... Maybe check your system with a good virusscanner. Maybe it catched a cold...
:?

bluefang
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:55 am
Location: South East, USA

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by bluefang » Tue Jun 15, 2021 4:53 am

My computer is virus free. I regularly run scans - but also, I do not use this computer for anything other than condor flying, condor landscape dev, and the occasional game or two. It is not my daily driver.

That being said... what I saw did not act like a virus at all. It was a hard hang of the main event loop. Viruses don't do that. A virus may take up CPU cycles, but they typically can't hang the event loop of an application unless they take control over some I/O API - which I have never heard of.

Anyway, it is indeed a mystery. And I thought I would post about it because there is definitely something in Condor that is running on the main event loop that shouldn't be. Hard hangs can only be caused by a limited number of things. 1) Do/While loops that have bug in end-of-loop logic 2) waiting for I/O response on main event loop or 3) bad memory or bad CPU (very rare). My best guess in this scenario is # 2 which is why I decided to make a post. As a dev myself, I know how much we despise non-repeatable / intermittent issues - but there is something that can go wrong with the launch of Condor that causes it to hard hang.
Image

Lenticular
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 7:29 am

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by Lenticular » Tue Jun 15, 2021 7:15 am

Check the scenery in use. Is it on a different drive to Condor?
G-ZULU /// LTN
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by Bre901 » Tue Jun 15, 2021 8:35 am

Looks like it is RDU (Raleigh-Durham), which is a small landscape (3.5 GB)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

bluefang
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 2:55 am
Location: South East, USA

Re: Things got really weird today - Condor hangs after "Start Flight"

Post by bluefang » Wed Jun 16, 2021 2:38 am

Scenery is on same drive as Condor - which is actually on my "G" drive - but all my sceneries are in my /Landscapes folder where they are suppose to be - G:/Condor2/Landscapes.

The first time this happened I was actually flying the Christchurch landscape - the Surfing With Aliens April Training task in Christchurch. I also tried to load a simple task in Slovenia and got the same result - a hard hang. I believe the screenshot I took was when trying a saved task from RDU-USA that I had previously flown and I knew to work. It didn't matter which scenery I loaded into the flight planner, the result was the same - a hard hang as soon as a hit the "Start Flight" button. It never actually made it to the landscape loading screen. This is why I think it might be easy to track down - as it happened as soon as I hit the "Start Flight" button and before the launching the landscape loading screen. You can see from the screen shot from when it happened the "Start Flight" button is still highlighted yellow (I had already clicked on the button) - the button never actually changes state back from the clicked state - which is one of the BIG hints that main event loop (GUI event loop) is being blocked. That and the fact that when clicking on the window during this hung state, the background goes black because the Win32 process to refresh the background of the app window is being blocked.

I too thought it might have been something with the RDU-USA landscape, and so I temporarily moved it out of the Landscapes folder, but I don't think this had anything to do with any of the Landscapes. I didn't take screenshots of each time it happened - but between restarting my computer several times & re-installing NVIDIA graphics drivers, reconnecting all of my USB flight controls - I probably tried at least 20 times with the same result - a hard hang.
Image

Post Reply