32bit and 24bit PDA maps

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

32bit and 24bit PDA maps

Post by Paul_UK » Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:39 pm

To save myself getting lost in the Alps I had the thought that I could just draw a few possible routes onto the PDA map so that they show up on the PDA whilst flying along. I left AA2.bmp as is and created a copy calling it AA2_TASK.bmp. On editing and saving I noticed the file size is much smaller and on investigation the file is only 24bit not 32bit. From reading it appears that 32bit bmp files come with an alpha channel so I loaded the AA2.bmp into a piece of software I have and the alpha channel appears to be plain white.

In a task last night I used the 24bit bmp file with no issues however after a little reading on here this morning think this may cause some instabilities. What is the reason this file needs an alpha channel? Is it something to do with the reflections of the pilot?

Is there actually any instability introduced in using a 24bit bmp file as opposed to a 32bit file?

It's quite useful being able to quickly scribble a line onto the map however if I have to go through the faff of adding an alpha channel etc it makes the process a little more tedious.
Image
2018 - Silver Badge complete - Forgot I could claim for the 100km diploma flying an out and return :oops:
2019 - Get up to speed and aim for a 300km task?! maybe.....

User avatar
BOD1
Posts: 1940
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:45 pm
Location: Brittany, France
Contact:

Re: 32bit and 24bit PDA maps

Post by BOD1 » Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:53 pm

Condor 2 in early versions needed 32bit map for PDA but I think it has been resolved for many months now and Condor accepts 24bit format.
Image
Please use this button to send me a PM, Forum messaging is too limited.
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: 32bit and 24bit PDA maps

Post by Bre901 » Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:54 pm

Paul_UK wrote:
Fri Feb 12, 2021 12:39 pm
Is there actually any instability introduced in using a 24bit bmp file as opposed to a 32bit file?
There used to be one (24 bits maps were only usable as the first map loaded, then they crashed Condor), but it has been fixed now, 24bits maps usable at any time (as 32 bits)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 558
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: 32bit and 24bit PDA maps

Post by Paul_UK » Fri Feb 12, 2021 1:04 pm

Thank you all for the speedy replies :mrgreen:

I'll hopefully not turn down a wrong valley again now!
Image
2018 - Silver Badge complete - Forgot I could claim for the 100km diploma flying an out and return :oops:
2019 - Get up to speed and aim for a 300km task?! maybe.....

Post Reply