Slow Response

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

gsurfdude

Slow Response

Post by gsurfdude » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:13 pm

Hello there,

First, I am new to condor and new to soaring both in RL and here. I have Condor 2 on dell 660s with only 4 gb memory and using built in graphics card. When I fly it, the controls (both joy stick and rudder pedals) are slow to respond. and the entire flight is jerky, not smooth like, let's say Xbox etc.. I don't do games at all (except a surfing on older Xbox). Other than replacing this computer is there a way I can get better performance of this. The System requirements did not say much other than 1 gig graphics card but integrated one 'will' work. BTW, I have windows 10.

Thanks!

Gsurfdude

janjansen

Re: Slow Response

Post by janjansen » Tue Oct 30, 2018 4:51 pm

With the best integrated graphics condor is barely playable and you have a nearly decade old one that wasnt any good when it was launched.

Your cpu isnt cutting edge but will do for condor. If you are on a tight budget, the best you could do is add a videocard to your PC. Problem however is that your case will only take single slot, low profile videocards that dont require a power connector and are extremely thin and short. That means you dont have a lot of choice. Here someone suggested a zotac 1030 would fit in your inspiron:
https://www.dell.com/community/Desktops ... -p/5186126

Thats hardly a fast videocard, but should still be like 10-20x faster than your integrated graphics:
https://gpu.userbenchmark.com/Compare/N ... 726vsm7699

and is probably good enough to play condor smoothly in 1080p with medium settings.

Good luck finding one though

gsurfdude

Post by gsurfdude » Tue Oct 30, 2018 5:44 pm

Thanks JanJansen.

I agree. Time to turn this old machine in to a Linux server for my network (subversion..) I will look on Craigslist for a decent machine but not quite a 'gamer'. I knew my options were limited due to it's age, small form factor etc..

janjansen