CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:12 pm

corlier wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:34 am
janjansen wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:30 am
Could be worth checking if you see anything in condor2/logs/errorlog.txt
Is there anything particular about your setup ? Some background software thats stealing focus or capturing keystrokes or anything you can think off?
Hi Jan,

I found nothing on errorlog ... but then I've just rebooted my pc by making a 'clean startup' and I had then no chatbug with V2 :D

This is what I did :

" Step 2: Configure Selective Startup options
In the System Configuration Utility dialog box, click Selective Startup on the General tab.
Click to clear the Load Startup Items check box.
Note The Use Original Boot.ini check box is unavailable.
Click the Services tab.
Click to select the Hide All Microsoft Services check box.
Click Disable All, and then click OK.
When you are prompted, click Restart.
Step 3: Determine whether the problem is resolved
After the computer starts, try to start the affected game or program to determine whether the problem is resolved.
If the problem does not occur after you restart, the interference is occurring because of a background program or service.
"


The question is now : which background program or service is causing the bug ??

Hereunder the desactivated services :

servicesok.jpg

Thanks for your help all :)
I have the same question.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

corlier
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:25 am

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by corlier » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:15 pm

Hmmm. Still bug 😕
Maybe my pc too perf.... Condor 2 not follows .
ASUS Republic Of Gamers ... more than 350 fps.

User avatar
EDB
Posts: 1477
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:17 am
Location: The Netherlands, Europe Continent, Earth Planet, Milky Way Galaxy, Virgo Super Cluster

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by EDB » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:17 am

I tried to reproduce it with chat on the SPACE key (your ESPACE) and I could not reproduce it. Chat on the SPACE key works fine here.

If it happens again, try to :
- ESC, ESC.
- WINDOWS KEY out of Condor and then click with the mouse in the Condor window and once that is active again do ALT+ENTER to get back in Condor Fullscreen.
- Try CHAT again.
- Repeat if it doesn't work at first try...

Try to remember what you did before you got stuck. I know... it's difficult. :wink:

janjansen
Posts: 1069
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by janjansen » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:26 pm

corlier wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:34 am
Hereunder the desactivated services :
As much as I despise Mcafee software, I would have been quite surprised that had anything to do with it.
Assuming the problem is even related to a background process, from the list you posted, the Thrustmaster software would be my first guess.

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:40 pm

Every time I've been stuck, I was in "autopilot" mode.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

kharmon
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 1:20 am

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by kharmon » Sun Mar 25, 2018 10:22 pm

I had this issue come up one me today. Someone said "hi" and I tried to respond, but 123.50_ just sat there. All keyboard inputs (chat, trim, wheel brakes, zoom) were ignored. I don't run McAfee and never have. I do run JoyToKey and I am also using ReShade. I will try to disable both. Its seldom I get a chance to use chat since all or Europe is usually asleep when I log in to fly.

Update: tried again with chat in multiplayer and could not get it to happen again with or without either JoyToKey or ReShade. Just flew a offline trip in Jura Mont Blanc, pressed the delete key to see what would happen. Obviously, no chat came up, but my keyboard stopped functioning. I think I will clear the CHAT command from the setup.

If I am in multiplayer with you, please know I'm not ignoring you.
8Zulu
Image

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Sat Apr 07, 2018 7:06 pm

2.02 patch didn't fix it.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Sun Apr 08, 2018 4:42 am

Additional information: It seems to occur to me after about an hour of contest. Thought it might have been caused by my email program, so I had it shut down. No difference. Thought it might be related to autopilot, again, no.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Sun Apr 15, 2018 2:53 am

Thought it might be being caused by the citrix receiver or steam. Shut them both down. The answer is, no, they're not the cause of the chat bug.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Thu Apr 26, 2018 9:46 pm

I think I have this fixed. Stopped two services (one for Adobe, the other for ColorMunki) and GeForce experience. Haven't had a problem with chat in two multiplayer contests since.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

User avatar
Pit_R
Posts: 1319
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:16 pm

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by Pit_R » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:32 am

Hello!
Any hope for 'enter' to send msg without esc loop?
No matter where you go... There you are...

Image
:::: Please use this envelope
Image
to send me a PM.

User avatar
OXO
Condor Team
Posts: 5929
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2006 1:08 am
Contact:

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by OXO » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:39 am

Pit_R wrote:
Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:32 am
Hello!
Any hope for 'enter' to send msg without esc loop?
The reason its not solved is that we are not able to replicate it.

If you or anyone has a guaranteed description of what to do, it can certainly be fixed.
Chris Wedgwood,
Condor Team

User avatar
Pit_R
Posts: 1319
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 7:16 pm

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by Pit_R » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:52 am

Thank you OXO for answer!
To check it: set 'Enter' as the key for sending msg and try to send msg during multiplayer session.
No matter where you go... There you are...

Image
:::: Please use this envelope
Image
to send me a PM.

G-ROB
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 8:26 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by G-ROB » Thu Jun 07, 2018 10:13 am

Hi OXO, thank you for your team's speedy update!

I think I know what the majority of the pilots are having issues with. The message system in V2 is different to that of V1.

In V1.1.15, you could use Enter to start the message and Enter to send. This was possible even if there was no text in the message after Enter was pressed.

In V2, It seems that there is a different system and you need two separate keys to start a chat and send a message. Most pilots reassign "send message" from BACKSPACE to Enter (habit from V1) and this seems to create a loop of some sorts because as you hit Enter to send the message, it then sends the message but at the same time creates a new action for starting a new chat which will create that "loop". The only way to get out of it is to hit Esc twice since hitting Enter will only bring up the chat once again.

This causes the problem when pilots go into Autopilot (lock the controls) to type in the chat but then do not know how to get out and end up crashing into terrain or go through flutter, etc.

I hope this helps.
ZS-GLP
Image

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: CHAT BUG UNSOLVED

Post by sadatoni » Sun Jun 10, 2018 12:00 am

Unsolved for me too. After a 3 hour flight, it hit. Had to do some dead reckoning to find the finish. Was stuck in pda screen 4. Fortuantely, had XCSoar connected and guess at the right finish point and used that map.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

Post Reply