Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
Jan Oorthuijsen
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Utrecht (Terwijde) - Holland

Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Post by Jan Oorthuijsen » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:52 pm

have problems with my microsoft force feed back 2. 50% of the times I start a flight the force feed back does not work. I have discovered by chance that tapping on the windows button usually restored the force feed back.

I do not see any strange things on the window focus logger, nor in the Condor logbook.

Someone any idea what the cause may be. With a borrowed equal joystik the problem is exactly the same.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PH-722
WW
It’s Difficult to Soar Like An Eagle
When You’re surrounded By Turkeys

Jan Oorthuijsen
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Utrecht (Terwijde) - Holland

Re: Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Post by Jan Oorthuijsen » Sun Dec 16, 2018 12:57 pm

Screenshot window focus logger
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PH-722
WW
It’s Difficult to Soar Like An Eagle
When You’re surrounded By Turkeys

janjansen
Posts: 1068
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Post by janjansen » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:23 am

Jan, Im a bit surprised you only discovered this now, this must be among the oldest bugs with the oldest known workarounds in condor, its been present since the earliest V1 releases :)

Indeed, alt tabbing or using the start key to change focus usually fixes the ffb issue (until a patch permanently fixes it).

Jan Oorthuijsen
Posts: 398
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 4:27 pm
Location: Utrecht (Terwijde) - Holland

Re: Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Post by Jan Oorthuijsen » Mon Dec 17, 2018 7:11 pm

Hi JJ

I have never had this problem in V1. At the beginning of this year I noticed it in V2. The problem seemed solved after a V2 ubdate. Because I live somewhere else in the summer and work there on another computer and a stick without ffb I did not notice that the problem is back again.

I also had a lot of contact at the beginning of the year about this problem with the Dutch from the Condor community, nobody has pointed out that it is an old bug and the existence is the workaround.

I have also posted the problem a few months ago on mantis and on the developer forum but this was not responded to, you would expect it to be indicated that it is an old problem with a workaround.

It can be solved with the Windows button, so the subject is closed for me.


Sincerely; Jan
PH-722
WW
It’s Difficult to Soar Like An Eagle
When You’re surrounded By Turkeys

sadatoni
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Central Ohio, USA

Re: Random loss of force feed back Microsoft FFB2

Post by sadatoni » Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:57 am

I never had it in V1 either. I'll have to remember the windows button trick.
N5503T CN(0OU)

Image
John Ferguson

Post Reply