Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

splyces
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by splyces » Wed Dec 25, 2019 12:53 pm

splyces wrote:
Sun Oct 20, 2019 4:19 pm
a small system where the person must give his name and mail
So I took some time to think about it and my conclusion is: It's feasible.

Considerations

# My amount of available compute power is fairly limited, as I need to pay bills on my own.
# A "better" frequented production instance of Condor2 server is drawing more CPU time, than I thought it would

The Condor2 server seems to scale not very well with an increasing number of pilots.
But I also run the Condor2 servers in Wine, because Windows is just not an option for me in this scenario.
It could perform better on Windows, but I cannot test that.

I would need to build a new infrastructure to host game services on demand (which costs money to build and operate).

So it's not really possible at the moment.

manolle111
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 4:46 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by manolle111 » Tue Feb 11, 2020 1:41 pm

It's making Condor life so much easier!
Tested it the last few evenings, it works Perfekt.
Thank you so much! :D

javierpubill
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 1:10 am

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by javierpubill » Tue Mar 10, 2020 1:14 am

page still working?
can't create server ...

thanks

jpvalenu
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 5:18 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by jpvalenu » Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:30 pm

Hi, when I start the server, It remain in a status: "Waiting for server spawn..." and nothing happens

Am I doing something whrong?

splyces
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by splyces » Sun Mar 22, 2020 5:53 pm

Seems like the condorsoaring server has changed his host.
Now it's back to normal :)

collinshea
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:51 am

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by collinshea » Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:55 am

Thank you for this! I found out about it yesterday and I have flown 3 tasks w /friends! :D

Riaba-Aggr
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 12:05 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Riaba-Aggr » Thu Apr 16, 2020 8:00 pm

Great service!
Are Condor 1 Servers also supported?
Image

splyces
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by splyces » Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:50 pm

It only supports Condor2 :)
Support for Condor1 is not planned.

Johnny_V
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:17 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Johnny_V » Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:55 pm

Hi, thanks for this excellent service. I am new to Condor (but not new to soaring), and tried to set up this multiplayer server. It worked like a charm, except for that I could not select a different plane class other than 'School' on the multiplayer server. Did I forget to configure something in the flightplan that I uploaded?

The flight plan itself specified '20-meter Multiseat' as plane class.

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Bre901 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:03 pm

Johnny_V wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:55 pm
Hi, thanks for this excellent service. I am new to Condor (but not new to soaring), and tried to set up this multiplayer server. It worked like a charm, except for that I could not select a different plane class other than 'School' on the multiplayer server. Did I forget to configure something in the flightplan that I uploaded?

The flight plan itself specified '20-meter Multiseat' as plane class.
There is a bug in Condor 2.1.1, that class is not available (reported, fix coming soon)

https://www.condorsoaring.com/forums/vi ... 27#p168852

If you want to fly the DuoDiscus, use the "All" or "Open" Classes
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Johnny_V
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2020 1:17 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Johnny_V » Tue Apr 21, 2020 10:28 am

Bre901 wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:03 pm

There is a bug in Condor 2.1.1, that class is not available (reported, fix coming soon)

https://www.condorsoaring.com/forums/vi ... 27#p168852

If you want to fly the DuoDiscus, use the "All" or "Open" Classes
Thank you! Selected 'all' and I could then use different gliders on the server. Thanks a lot for your help

Jnewgent
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:26 am

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Jnewgent » Fri Apr 24, 2020 5:30 am

Just wanted to say thank you for this

After spending a couple of hours changing firewall and port forwarding settings to suit condor 2 with no luck, this just works.

It's super fast too

Thanks

splyces
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:59 pm

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by splyces » Fri Apr 24, 2020 7:36 am

I am glad you're enjoying it :)

Big Mike
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:00 am

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Big Mike » Tue May 05, 2020 9:07 pm

Thankyou, Great Connections!!!

Foob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:06 am

Re: Free & Easy Condor Server Hosting

Post by Foob » Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:09 pm

Had some trouble getting flights to start this afternoon on cloud.dvaec.de. We've been using the servers for a few months with great success (thanks for this great service to the community!), but today we couldn't get off the ground. Both pilots were able to log in, and for aerotow starts two tow planes were spawned, but they wouldn't move. For winch tows nothing happened, and for air starts the gliders spawned at the correct height but wouldn't move. The spacebar doesn't do anything, and the Esc menu just has the Exit Flight option. Has something changed? Was I doing something wrong?

Post Reply