Going fast

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

NobleWizard

Going fast

Post by NobleWizard » Thu Apr 04, 2019 1:35 am

Hello,

I've been playing a for a few months now and there are a lot of fast pilots. So I wanted to know why you are fast and are there any tips you can give me so I can improve.

Thank you,
UFO

wickid

Re: Going fast

Post by wickid » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:10 am

What kind of tasks?

Tasks with thermals it's about only turning the really good ones and flying according mcready theory.

Ridge tasks it's about finding the correct route and gaining just enough altitude to make it across ridges enroute.

Practice, practice, practice!
PH-1504, KOE

janjansen

Post by janjansen » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:29 am

Download and install the optional module "15 years of competition experience" in to your brain :lol:

Seriously though, its kinda to hard to know where to start without knowing what (if any) real life experience you have, or seeing some flights of you to see what you already do right and what you still do wrong, so I glanced over some flights of you on condor club to get an idea, and it appears you got at least most of the basic principles nailed down, as you are flying with ballast, you appear to take mostly sensible routes and I assume you are familiar with McCready theory. IOW, i think you are doing ok for a new pilot.

One thing I did notice that needs work, is your final glide, at least on the tchintchin task you went way too high. Do you know how to use the final glide page on your PDA?

Another very general remark; you seem to thermal a little more than necessary; its usually better to climb in a straight line flying along the ridges than it is climbing in a thermal. Of course it all depends on how strong the thermal is, how strong the ridge lift, how high and how long and off track the ridge is, but when thermaling, your ground speed is ~ zero and that is not good for your average.