bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
fpaynter
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Post by fpaynter » Sun Feb 25, 2024 4:11 am

Windows 10, Dell XPS15 7590 with two Dell 24" external monitor

Last night my Bluetooth headset ran out of gas about halfway through a flight, so the audio was automatically rerouted to the audio output of one of my external monitors. Unfortunately, Condor2 audio stopped entirely (or at least did not switch to the monitor speakers like everything else). So I had to continue the flight without any audio, which was a real PITA).

Anyone else seen this problem, or have a workaround?

TIA,

TA
Frank (TA1)

User avatar
wickid
Posts: 2441
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Venlo, NL
Contact:

Re: bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Post by wickid » Sun Feb 25, 2024 8:55 am

No, there is no walk around. You cannot switch audiosources during flight.
PH-1504, KOE

fpaynter
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Post by fpaynter » Sun Feb 25, 2024 2:55 pm

Thanks for the update; nice to know I wasn't just imagining things. Any idea when this particular bug will get squashed?

TIA,

Frank
Frank (TA1)

janjansen
Posts: 1094
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Re: bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Post by janjansen » Mon Feb 26, 2024 8:31 am

A workaround is using a virtual audio driver. Some gaming headsets provide this (my steelseries does), I select "steelseries sonar" as default audio output and that software re-routes the audio between headset, speakers, or even bluetooth whenever I connect or disconnect a device. As far as condor is concerned, nothing changes, it just outputs to the same (virtual) audio device.

I used to do the same using VB cable:
https://vb-audio.com/Cable/index.htm

You may need voicemeeter too, same website, not entirely sure, its been a while.

fpaynter
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: bug report: Condor doesn't follow mid-flight audio switch

Post by fpaynter » Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:07 am

Thanks for the link to VB-Audio. Wow - I'm an Electrical Engineer and I swear I can't follow their description (or at least I can't apply their description to this particular problem)! However, I did find a nice description of how to use AB-Cable + VoiceMeeter to address this issue at this link.
Frank (TA1)

Post Reply