Can't go beyond inversion limit

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Post Reply
manzano
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 10:57 am

Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by manzano » Sat May 28, 2022 11:33 am

Hello!

I wanted to fly high above the inversion (max is 8km, here around 5220m) so I set up a nice weather on the Mont-Blanc :D

But as soon as my altitude is approaching the inversion altitude, the simulator resets the plane at another altitude, no more thermal, then comes back to normal "session" but with lost altitude. And since thermal is present again, it raises above the inversion and bugs again.
It happens instantly, looks like we edited the video with straight cuts, but we didn't, check out the instruments on the left and camera moves, you'll see.

Here's a video : https://youtu.be/1U4-ayvlHIo (comment in French).

We reinstalled Condor from scratch, not working.

Any idea to fix it? Thank you

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by Bre901 » Sat May 28, 2022 2:01 pm

In Condor 2 the wind is more or less constant (=low level value) up to the inversion layer then varies linearly from the inversion layer up to 5000m (=high level value)
If you set the inversion layer slightly below or above 5000m and there is a significant difference between the low level and the high level winds, strange things are known to happen.

To confirm that, please post the weather part of your .fpl. Please use the code tag ( </> in the toolbar)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

manzano
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 10:57 am

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by manzano » Sun May 29, 2022 3:34 pm

I can't find the original one. Here's a 8000 version. AFAIR, I couldn't go above this one too.
mont-blanc.fpl
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

manzano
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 10:57 am

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by manzano » Tue Jun 07, 2022 3:13 pm

Anyone tried it?

User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by Paul_UK » Tue Jun 07, 2022 4:48 pm

Flew your FPL, I had no issues using dynamic lift to climb way above the height you were having issues at, I climbed to 6934m. The only thing is I'm not sure the FPL you provided is the same as the one you were flying as I have many more cumulus clouds visible than you do. In the FPL provided the inversion level is set at 8030m
Shot93.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image
2018 - Silver Badge complete - Forgot I could claim for the 100km diploma flying an out and return :oops:
2019 - Get up to speed and aim for a 300km task?! maybe.....

manzano
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 28, 2022 10:57 am

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by manzano » Tue Jun 07, 2022 5:22 pm

I can't find the 5020 something, it's a 8000 as I said.
I tried multiple inversion altitude and had troubles, except when inversion is under the airborne altitude.

User avatar
Paul_UK
Posts: 623
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 1:05 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Can't go beyond inversion limit

Post by Paul_UK » Wed Jun 08, 2022 11:00 am

I am sorry I don't understand. In your youtube video the glider starts jumping at around 5200m, I assume this is QNH?

With the FPL you provided I climbed way above this up to 6934m QNH with no issues and I was still below cloudbase at that altitude.

What happens when you try to fly the FPL you uploaded to here?
Image
2018 - Silver Badge complete - Forgot I could claim for the 100km diploma flying an out and return :oops:
2019 - Get up to speed and aim for a 300km task?! maybe.....

Post Reply