From SeeYou / XCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? ) [merged]

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

From SeeYou / XCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? ) [merged]

Post by jcomm » Sat Nov 07, 2020 1:38 pm

Is there a converter from, say, xCSoar / TopHat " .cup" or ".tsk"task file into Condor format?

I have a series of tasks in TopHat that I would like to copy directly into Condor to be able to fly those tasks without having to manually set them in Condor.

Thx for any suggestions !
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by jcomm » Sun Nov 08, 2020 10:40 am

I have posted this same quest at the "General" forum, but got no answer so far... so decided to try my luck here:

I use TopHat IRL ( because it's lighter on my Kobo Mini, and very simple to use without being distracted by the interface... ), and I have started using an excellent Portugal ( v2 ) scenery with Condorsoaring 2, but setting the tasks in the condor scenery isn't easy because most points we se IRL aren't there in the scenery.

The ".cup" files I have in my xCSoar Documents folder come with a worth of tasks I would like to get in condor but CoTaCo allows "only" to port a task from condor to xCSoar, not the way around...

Any suggestions ?

THX!
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by Bre901 » Sun Nov 08, 2020 10:55 am

Creating an FPL file from scratch would be complicated because it contains much more information than just the task itself

The only thing that I can offer you is the batch mode of the CoCoCo coordinate converter which generates subsets of FPL files that you can cut and paste.

I thought I had posted about it somewhere on this forum but I can't find it

I use it when I want to insert turn points that do not exist in the landscape .cup file.
I first create a task in Condor with approximate TP positions, then I create the batch input file with names, coordinates and altitude
After running the converter, I cut and paste the coordinates lines into the FPL

it can be downloaded from here https://condorutill.pagesperso-orange.f ... tml#CoCoCo
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by jcomm » Sun Nov 08, 2020 11:13 am

Brilliant !!!

Thank you !!!
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by Bre901 » Sun Nov 08, 2020 11:19 am

I even have a more recent version which I didn't put online yet (more or less beta, but I had no problems here) : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Yu28I5 ... sp=sharing
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by jcomm » Sun Nov 08, 2020 1:57 pm

Superb!

Thx again!
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by Bre901 » Sun Nov 08, 2020 2:07 pm

I just made a quick test, it looks like CoCoCo works also with comma-separated data in the batch input file:

Code: Select all

Landscape=Slovenia2
1 Triglav 46°22'45N 13°50'10E 2864
and

Code: Select all

Landscape=Slovenia2
1,Triglav,46°22'45N,13°50'10E,2864
yield the same result:

Code: Select all

TPName1=Triglav
TPPosX1=205644.750
TPPosY1=96294.945
TPPosZ1=2864.000
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by jcomm » Mon Nov 09, 2020 9:43 am

Great !

Out of curiosity, what are you using to code it ?
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by Bre901 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 11:13 am

jcomm wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 9:43 am
Great !

Out of curiosity, what are you using to code it ?
Fortran
I'm as old as the language, and I speak it quite fluently as I have dealt with about 0.5M code lines in a 45 years career in scientific computing :wink:
Besides that, when people hear of Fortran, they think of Fortran IV which is indeed very old style, but it has very much evolved since then and it has everything a modern language needs (except for object oriented programming which I really don't need for the small utilities I make nowadays).
If I have to make system calls or call graphics routines, I use C (gcc and gfortran interface quite nicely)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? )

Post by jcomm » Mon Nov 09, 2020 12:55 pm

Started programming in Fortran IV, and actually built a compiler for a subset ( for teaching Compiler theory ) in 1982 :-)

"C" is still my preferred language, although I really like PASCAL as well, ADA and even Eiffel !

Tried to start programming in Java, after that C++, but could never transition into it, and my job changed too...

Lately trying to start Pythonizing... :-)
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
jmurtari
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:10 pm
Location: Lyons, NY
Contact:

Re: Converting from .cup / .tsk or other formats into Condor .fpl ?

Post by jmurtari » Mon Nov 09, 2020 5:23 pm

Jose,

Looks like an interesting project and probably not too hard. I'm a programmer and might have some time to give it a try. I help with the SoaringTools.Org website and it would be simple to have a page that does conversions, e.g. XCSoar Task -> Condor Flight Plan. The .fpl is simple text format. It has a [Task] section (below) which seems pretty clear in laying out the turnpoints. The XCSoar task file is also text.

Is there anything already out there that does conversions now?
Is anyone else interested?

Code: Select all

[Task]
Landscape=tullahoma
Count=6
TPName0=marion
TPPosX0=25165.45703125
TPPosY0=19624.896484375
TPPosZ0=194
TPAirport0=1
TPSectorType0=0
TPRadius0=3000
TPAngle0=90
TPAltitude0=1500
TPWidth0=0
TPHeight0=10000
TPAzimuth0=0
TPName1=NewTP
TPPosX1=28980
TPPosY1=23310
TPPosZ1=218
TPAirport1=0
TPSectorType1=0
TPRadius1=3000
TPAngle1=90
TPAltitude1=1500
TPWidth1=0
TPHeight1=10000
TPAzimuth1=0
.... more for each turnpoint

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Converting from .cup / .tsk or other formats into Condor .fpl ?

Post by Bre901 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 7:57 pm

jmurtari wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 5:23 pm
Jose,

Looks like an interesting project and probably not too hard. I'm a programmer and might have some time to give it a try. I help with the SoaringTools.Org website and it would be simple to have a page that does conversions, e.g. XCSoar Task -> Condor Flight Plan. The .fpl is simple text format. It has a [Task] section (below) which seems pretty clear in laying out the turnpoints. The XCSoar task file is also text.

Is there anything already out there that does conversions now?
FYI, the reverse conversion (FPL- > XCSoar or LK8000) is already available: viewtopic.php?f=29&t=18102
Is anyone else interested?
I have been working on my converter for 2.5 years, José is the first one to ask explicitly for such a conversion.
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: Converting from .cup / .tsk or other formats into Condor .fpl ?

Post by jcomm » Mon Nov 09, 2020 10:06 pm

Meanwhile Bre offered a temporary solution using CoCoCo to convert between xCSoar task turnpoint coordinates and the Condor format.

It works ok - just tested it with a task for Portugal v2.

But a fully featured converter like CoTaCo would be just great!
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1799
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: Converting from .cup / .tsk or other formats into Condor .fpl ?

Post by Bre901 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 2:10 pm

jcomm wrote:
Mon Nov 09, 2020 10:06 pm
But a fully featured converter like CoTaCo would be just great!
Let's see how many people are interested...
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
jcomm
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 12:51 am

Re: From xCSoar / TopHat to Condor v2 tasks... ( ? ) [merged]

Post by jcomm » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:33 pm

Well, for a start you can count me and my alter-ego :-)
José Oliveira
Hey you Chicks flying bricks....
Come Fly Gliders ! Be Outsiders!

Post Reply