Realistic Settings for Thermals

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Lenticular

Realistic Settings for Thermals

Post by Lenticular » Thu Apr 09, 2020 12:25 am

Hi,

I'm a UK-based pilot IRL, and wanting to set up the sim to reflect an average day in the UK.

So far I have been setting the sim to very weak and narrow thermals for practise locating and centering, but I was wondering what gives a more representative level of thermals for longer and more realistic tasks?

How does the "variation" actually work? If I set it to "very weak" and "high", does it follow a gaussian distribution model around the set strength?

Does the time of day affect the thermal rate/strength? It seems there is no way to set a time-based varience beyond the basic parameters (e.g. start the day with weak and few thermals, becoming strong and frequent in the afternoon).
G-ZULU /// LTN

wickid

Re: Realistic Settings for Thermals

Post by wickid » Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:01 am

Lenticular wrote:
Thu Apr 09, 2020 12:25 am

How does the "variation" actually work? If I set it to "very weak" and "high", does it follow a gaussian distribution model around the set strength?

Does the time of day affect the thermal rate/strength? It seems there is no way to set a time-based varience beyond the basic parameters (e.g. start the day with weak and few thermals, becoming strong and frequent in the afternoon).
https://www.condorsoaring.com/about/

Maybe also watch the video about weather
PH-1504, KOE

aliran

Post by aliran » Fri Apr 10, 2020 9:51 am

I am also from the UK and although i've been using Condor for a long time for instructing and it's great for this purpose, i've never used it for competition practice before, but I am now and it's great for many of the tactical skills.

I am however also finding similar issues trying to set realistic flat-land weather.

Two main issues: