Wave soaring

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

soldano

Wave soaring

Post by soldano » Mon Dec 23, 2019 1:01 am

I am new to Condor 2 and gave it a try to wave soaring , and found it very interesting, as I could reach more than 9.000 meters height at Los Andes with a 100 Km West wind.-
I had never flew waves in real life and always have believed that lenticular clouds are at the top of the altitude you can reach, but in my case I flew well over them.-
Does it happens in real life ?
Thanks

3P

Re: Wave soaring

Post by 3P » Mon Dec 23, 2019 1:34 am

Maybe several layers is the answer? :)

soldano

Post by soldano » Mon Dec 23, 2019 3:48 am

No, there was only one lenticular layer, at no more than 5000 meters, no other layer were higher
I found it somewhat strange, as I heard that lenticulars are generated at the summit of each wave

losnively

Post by losnively » Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:41 pm

Lennies can form at multiple layers, based on the moisture in each layer. How wind layers are generated, and how strongly they interact is complicated, and probably not well understood. On a day with lots of high level moisture, there can be stacks and stacks of lenticular clouds. There are also days when only one layer of the atmosphere has enough moisture, and the correct temperature gradient, for the moisture to condense into a lennie. So, yes, wave can extend far above the one layer of atmosphere that will generate a lenticular cloud.

Unfortunately, it's not uncommon to have one layer of lenticular cloud at the start of a flight, climb above it in clear air, and then have more moisture move in and completely obscure the ground. Getting down safely is not always possible, and, in that situation, always exciting, for a time, at least!

The takeaway is that climbing above lennies in Condor 2 is not unusual - it happens in RL as well.

soldano

Post by soldano » Tue Dec 24, 2019 10:10 pm

Thanks that was a clear explanation.-