CoTASA (V3.0) VNE alarm, horizon, etc

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Sun Sep 19, 2021 10:22 pm

Ground speed can be activated/deactivated
Display Gnd Speed=

I haven't updated the manual yet, it will be done some time

Apparently you are the first one who asks for labels

For the time being, there are no labels for speeds as I have considered that speeds may be distinguished by colors and that most pilots don't display all of them. Moreover VNE and VA1 are constant during flight, and TAS is always greater than IAS (except at z=0)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Wed Dec 22, 2021 9:24 pm

Following the release of Hangar Update 22, I have updated the glider data for CoTASA, they are available for download
http://condorutill.fr/
No need to update CoTASA
Search for "Glider data" below the CoTASA icon, download the file and unzip it in the Settings folder
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Stonks
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:49 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Stonks » Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:46 pm

Hi
I have been using CoTASA for a while now (great app)but I cannot get the windspeed numerical value in the RH top corner of the AH to read in kts. All the numbers that are displayed in the separate window show speed in kts but the AH wind speed shows in km/h. I have tried every configuration I can in the .ini file (including forcing CoTASA to display in kts) but it just wont stop showing km/h.
Thanks
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Sat Jan 01, 2022 8:28 pm

Stonks wrote:
Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:46 pm
Hi
I have been using CoTASA for a while now (great app)but I cannot get the windspeed numerical value in the RH top corner of the AH to read in kts. All the numbers that are displayed in the separate window show speed in kts but the AH wind speed shows in km/h. I have tried every configuration I can in the .ini file (including forcing CoTASA to display in kts) but it just wont stop showing km/h.
Thanks
Thanks for reporting. I most probably forgot to program the conversion of the windspeed :oops:
I'll check that in the coming days.

Version 2.3 had been available for beta tests for one month last spring ... yet another proof, if needed, that no bugs reported doesn't mean no bugs :roll:
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
JBlyth
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by JBlyth » Sun Jan 02, 2022 8:25 am

Ah ha! So that's why the ridges never seemed to work in the Ralee in Chile recently ;-)....

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:00 pm

Bre901 wrote:
Sat Jan 01, 2022 8:28 pm
Thanks for reporting. I most probably forgot to program the conversion of the windspeed :oops:
That was it, indeed
The fix was quite easy, version 2.3.1 is available here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GP5Fth ... sp=sharing
I'll release it after I get some feedback from users
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
JBlyth
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by JBlyth » Mon Jan 03, 2022 2:25 am

Sorry, I seem to be getting virus scan errors again on that file....

Threat blocked Trojan:Script/Wacatac.B!ml

Cheers
John

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Mon Jan 03, 2022 10:32 am

JBlyth wrote:
Mon Jan 03, 2022 2:25 am
Sorry, I seem to be getting virus scan errors again on that file....

Threat blocked Trojan:Script/Wacatac.B!ml

Cheers
John
Please indicate what the culprit software is, so that I can report a false positive
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
JBlyth
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by JBlyth » Mon Jan 03, 2022 11:30 am

It was your Google Drive file https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GP5Fth ... sp=sharing

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Mon Jan 03, 2022 12:19 pm

I'm afraid I got misunderstood: what is your anti-virus ?
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
JBlyth
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by JBlyth » Mon Jan 03, 2022 12:27 pm

Ah.... Standard Microsoft Windows 11.

Would it be worth putting it on your website as Beta version? There never seems to be a problem downloading from there....

Stonks
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2020 3:49 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Stonks » Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:36 pm

The beta version doesnt seem to exist on that link anymore?
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Tue Jan 18, 2022 7:49 pm

Sorry, the last cleanup session was a bit too aggressive. The file is back

Having said that, I'm still expecting user feedback on that version ...
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
JBlyth
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:10 pm

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by JBlyth » Wed Jan 19, 2022 3:57 am

Hi Marc,

I had another go at downloading the new version from the Google Drive link, and I didn't have a virus warning at all this time.

I'm away at the moment, but on a simple takeoff without anything but keyboard control, CoTASA seemed to work correctly with the correct wind unit output.

All the best,
John in Sunny Carnarvon - Western Australia

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1444
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Post by Bre901 » Fri Apr 01, 2022 4:26 pm

As I heard that some potential CoTASA users are held back by the text file based configuration, I have written a configuration GUI app

CoTASA version 3 Beta is available for testing.

If you are an experienced CoTASA user and are willing to spend some time seriously searching for bugs, please contact me by PM

Many thanks in advance

CoTASA_Setup2_def.png
CoTASA_Setup1_def.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Post Reply