CoTASA V2.3 (VNE alarm, horizon, etc)

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Khainapha61
Posts: 72
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2018 6:01 am

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Khainapha61 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 7:46 pm

Hi Guys
Cotasa is really a nice and useful utility, I installed now V2. In V1 you could set the VNE individualy. It just popped up after start or a break. Now I see that anymore. Any idea? Like to have it back.
Tx and regards K,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Sat Mar 09, 2019 8:39 pm

VNE is defined by the glider manufacturer so you shouldn't change it. The previous version had this feature in case the data file couldn't be read or the glider wasn't found in the list.

However you can change the safety margin between VNE and the start of the alarm, either in the CoTASA.ini file (DV1=) or interactively during the flight using the "I" and "U" keys (see manual page 6)
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Crakob
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:26 am

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Crakob » Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:35 am

Hi Marc,
is it possible to "speed up" the reaction of the wind-arrow ?
(sometimes when it gets close and low :) , it would be nice if the arrow would move immediately when the plane turns.
It feels to me, as if it reacts slower if your bank angle is high ??

Christian
CRAKOB = CRA

Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Tue Apr 23, 2019 10:25 am

Crakob wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:35 am
Hi Marc,
is it possible to "speed up" the reaction of the wind-arrow ?
(sometimes when it gets close and low :) , it would be nice if the arrow would move immediately when the plane turns.
It feels to me, as if it reacts slower if your bank angle is high ??

Christian
Hi Christian

what mode are you using : compass or North up ?
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Crakob
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:26 am

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Crakob » Wed Apr 24, 2019 7:27 pm

compass mode ( (North up is too difficult for me :) )
CRAKOB = CRA

Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:05 pm

I'm a bit surprised by your question, I have never seen such a thing.
The wind arrow is fixed with respect to North (as the wind comes from the flightplan).
The compass is rotated in as real time as possible (about 20 FPS) from the heading data taken from the UDP stream.
Check the glider compass and the heading value (top left).
Compass.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Crakob
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:26 am

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Crakob » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:36 pm

oh. sorry. i use this (Thought that was compass-mode)

but maybe (probabely) its because the wind in condor can shift (depending on the settings) and in cotasa it's fixed .
So when i ´m close to the mountains it is more visible(noticeable) than in "clean" air.

Anyway this wind-arrow is suuuuuper !!!!!! Thanks again a lot for that fantastic tool.

Christian
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
CRAKOB = CRA

Image

User avatar
Capricorne
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:34 pm
Location: Strasbourg (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Capricorne » Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:31 pm

Your Picture is not CoTaSa 2 but a previous version...
Capricorne - S67

User avatar
Capricorne
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 6:34 pm
Location: Strasbourg (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Capricorne » Sat Apr 27, 2019 1:51 pm

Capricorne wrote:
Thu Apr 25, 2019 7:31 pm
Your Picture is not CoTaSa 2 but a previous version...
Oups, I have forgot that you can chose # Arrow style (0=basic, 1=nice, default)
Arrow Style=1

your picture is the 0 style , only choice in version 1 of CoTaSa.
Sorry :oops:
Capricorne - S67

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

CoTASA V2.1

Post by Bre901 » Thu May 09, 2019 10:47 am

A bug has been found in CoTASA V2.0 : TAS is over-estimated when taking off from an altitude airfield

This is fixed now

The new version of CoTASA uses either ISA (International Standard Atmosphere) or Condor's atmosphere models (many thanks to Uros)
All text colours (+WB graphical) can be user-defined.

For ascending compatibility reasons (and because using the Condor model yields smaller safety margins) , the ISA model is still the default, you'll have to change the settings to use the Condor model.

CoTASA V2.1 (installer or Zip package) may be downloaded from the webpage : http://condorutill.pagesperso-orange.fr#CoTaSa

If you use the installer, you can install V2.1 over V2.0, your CoTaSa.ini file will be preserved and updated to V2.1 format at first start.

If you use the Zip package, backup your CoTaSa.ini file and overwrite the one in the package with it, it will be updated to V2.1 format at first start.
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Sat May 11, 2019 5:38 pm

Following the release of Hangar Update 7, I have updated the glider data for CoTASA, they are available for download
http://condorutill.pagesperso-orange.fr/
No need to update CoTASA
Search for "Glider data" below the CoTASA icon, download the file and unzip it in the Settings folder
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Crakob
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:26 am

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Crakob » Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:25 pm

hi Marc,
i,ve got a question:
Since it happens quite often that l forget to close cotasa between two flights. And when i close cotasa, for what reason whatsoever, my streamingsoftware (OBS) stops to deliver a picture than. So i can't close cotasa while i'm streaming. (Otherwise i would have to close OBS and start a new stream)

so i guess its a quite single-minded request, but: would it be possible to he have something like a "reset-key" assigned in Cotasa.?

best regards
Christian
CRAKOB = CRA

Image

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:39 pm

I guess it would be possible to do that, I'll take a look at the code to evaluate how complicated it would be ...
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:27 pm

Following the release of Hangar Update 8, I have updated the glider data for CoTASA, they are available for download
http://condorutill.pagesperso-orange.fr/
No need to update CoTASA
Search for "Glider data" below the CoTASA icon, download the file and unzip it in the Settings folder
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

User avatar
Bre901
Posts: 1307
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm
Location: Annecy (France)
Contact:

Re: CoTASA V2.0

Post by Bre901 » Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:36 am

There was a typo in the CoTASA_data.txt file.
It has been corrected and uploaded again.
If you already had downloaded the file, either download it again or open the file in a text editor and replace the last "-1" by "-3" at the end of the last line
Apologies for the inconvenience
CN: MPT — CondorUTill webpage: https://condorutill.fr/

Post Reply