ACK Keiheuvel simulator

Interested in building your own home grown cockpit?

Moderators: Uros, OXO

janjansen

ACK Keiheuvel simulator

Post by janjansen » Sat Sep 22, 2018 9:55 am

As Ive posted in a few other threads, Im building a simulator for my old club. I thought Id document my progress, or lack thereoff, in this thread.
Please note I have no idea what Im doing, Im no good at working with wood, and im a really bad designer, but I have the internet, a 3D printer and I want to build this thing.

This is the concept:

Its built around a second hand car seat, some left over LCD panels and a FFB2 joystick and rudder panels. Because the panels are relatively small (27" UWD in the middle and 24" side panels) they need to be close to the pilot. But in order to be able to get in and out, I will put the entire upper section on linear rails

I may need to come up with a locking mechanism.

Here is a mockup of the main parts a few weeks ago:

Getting in and out proved a challenge even without the top parts, so I made the joystick removable by printing a holder and mounting it on the seat

For the airbrake lever, I went full ghetto by repurposing a (worthless) drill press. But I soon discovered the spring was much too strong, I couldnt find a suitable replacement spring, so I replaced the spring with rubber bands.

I also printed some parts to mount a potentiometer:

I may add a micro switch to activate wheel brakes and Im still thinking of something to mimic the locking mechanism.

Because of how condor input works, and the fact condor simulates many gliders, I gave up on my initial idea for a "real" flap lever and settled on a sequential shifter. After half a dozen iterations, Im mostly happy with it now:

The trim lever still needs a little refinement, but already feels great

janjansen

Re: ACK Keiheuvel simulator

Post by janjansen » Thu Sep 27, 2018 10:58 pm

Some progress.

I finalized and mounted the trim, flaps and airbrake levers