Water explanation, please.....

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

mojo

Water explanation, please.....

Post by mojo » Mon May 02, 2005 1:16 pm

Hi all

I think I've finally got to grip with most of the concepts on offer in Condor, but would appreciate a bit of advice on the pros and cons of taking on water (ballast). I appreciate that increased speeds would be a factor, as would increased sink-rates, but I could do with some info on the effects of water placement. Why tail-heavy, or nose-heavy etc.

Also, what conditions would prompt you to consider ballast.

In anticipation, thanks!!!

Mojo :?:

astir

Post by astir » Mon May 02, 2005 1:34 pm

Well, Im not a pro in this but...

Water is always good if you just get up at the beginning of race (before race actually) because then you have more kinetic energy and you go further than without it.

And it also chance glide ratios so that you will lost less altitude with higher speeds.

And what comes to tail ballast, I think its only a way to make plane more stabile and nicer to different weight pilots. So if you are heavy you might would take tail ballast so you can trim it easier :) to go slower in turns.

With lighter pilots you take cognizance that centre of gravity wont go too back, because then plane is really dangerous. Could go to flat spin and so on.

Something like that :shock: Somebody can clarify my assumptions.

-AStir
K.Jeromaa
reg-#: OH-681
comp-#: KJ
Finland

AIRMAN

Post by AIRMAN » Mon May 02, 2005 3:26 pm