Would you guys recommend Condor as a learning tool to a pilot in training?

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

DerScuple

Would you guys recommend Condor as a learning tool to a pilot in training?

Post by DerScuple » Mon May 29, 2017 6:13 pm

Hi guys, I'm sure this has been asked before but I got a lot of mixed results when searching for an answer. (Some say yes, some say no)

Anyway, I am a brand new pilot with almost no flight experience. I started taking gliding lessons with my club just this week. I've so far went for 5 flights, and probably don't even have an hour of stick time yet, so in other words: I am about as green as it gets.

I'm learning a lot with my lessons, but I'm wondering if it would be beneficial to use a simulator like Condor, (with stick, rudder, and maybe even track IR) to help me learn the basics faster, like flying coordinated, weather, wind, and maybe even trying some simulated landings and take offs. (Which are extremely overwhelming to a new guy like me.. seriously, how do you guys even do that)

What do you guys think? Would it be worth it investing in Condor, as well as all the hardware?

Cadfael

Re: Would you guys recommend Condor as a learning tool to a pilot in training?

Post by Cadfael » Mon May 29, 2017 7:00 pm

This question is not possibly seriously answer - everything depends on your discipline and interest. You can fly with Condor by the same way as with real glider, but you can learn some wrong habits here too. At the condor there is missing fear, so you can more risk. Also size of trees and some objects have no the same scale as reality, so you have teach wrong feeling of altitude before landing, but generally I personally think it can be used as a training tool.

Maybe exaple - this situation is similiar as you are learning drive a car wíth any good car simulator. You can learn many things here, but driving a real car as a little bit different.

DerScuple