Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

Locked
fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:34 am

I have updated my CondorWPFileGen.exe utility for adding airport data from a scenery's [scenery_name].apt file to a CUP file for use on an external PDA. The new version is 1.0.2 and it includes fixes for some bugs that caused incorrect coordinates to be generated in some cases. It is available on my Google Docs site at

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BwILko ... IxMGJjNmNj

Regards,
Frank (TA1)

seneca
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:20 pm

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by seneca » Sat Jan 07, 2012 6:18 pm

Hello Frank,

I tried your utility. It's great :-). Thank you for sharing.

I found a little bug. The coordinates for the airfields got a comma as decimalseperator, where a real point is required. Editing the generated cup-file solved the problem. Still much better than calculating all the coordinates manually ;-).

By the way, it would be nice to have a button to clear the internal coordinate list. So that it is possible to start a new list without the need to restart your utility.

Regards,
Rainer

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:09 pm

seneca wrote:Hello Frank,

I tried your utility. It's great :-). Thank you for sharing.

I found a little bug. The coordinates for the airfields got a comma as decimalseperator, where a real point is required. Editing the generated cup-file solved the problem. Still much better than calculating all the coordinates manually ;-).

By the way, it would be nice to have a button to clear the internal coordinate list. So that it is possible to start a new list without the need to restart your utility.

Regards,
Rainer
Rainer,

There was an issue with an earlier version that used commas rather than dots for coordinates due to differences in local 'culture' settings (Europe & UK use commas for decimal separators and dots for thousands separators, while the US does it the other way around), but I thought that was fixed in V1.0.1. Can you verify you are working with V1.0.2 and if you are, can you send me a file that demonstrates the problem? I'll also need to know something about your computer's 'Culture' settings. when you type a number like 1,000,000, do you use commas or dots as the thousands separator? Same thing for a number like 3.14159?

Regarding the button to clear the internal coordinate list - can you describe what you want in more detail? By 'internal coordinate list', do you mean the list that is displayed in the window marked 'Console'? If so, this is just an informative log of what the program is doing, and isn't actually necessary for the program to work. You can clear all the contents by right-clicking, selecting the 'select all' menu item, and then pressing 'Delete'. However, now that you have brought it up, I think I might add a 'Clear Console Window' button or something like that ;-).

Anything else you liked or did not like?
Frank (TA1)

seneca
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:20 pm

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by seneca » Sat Jan 07, 2012 7:38 pm

Hello Frank,

I'm using using the latest Version V1.0.2 and standard localisation for Germany (comma as decimal separator, dot as thousands separator).

Regarding the clear button: What happens, if I open another *.apt or .cup file, after another already opened file? I experienced that the coordinates of the later files are appended to the coordinatelist of the previosly opend files. So generating a comined file will have all coordinates of all opend files in it, right? To start a new emty list, I had to restart your utility.

Besides this comma issue, this tool does all I need, since I'm using other software for task planning.

Regards,
Rainer

name,code,country,lat,lon,elev,style,rwdir,rwlen,freq,desc
"LESCE-BLED",,,4621,440N,01410,448E,504m,5,134,1148,0,
"CELJE",,,4614,691N,01513,356E,244m,5,107,766,0,
"AJDOVSCINA",,,4553,273N,01353,118E,117m,5,93,958,0,
"MURSKA SOBOTA",,,4637,800N,01610,104E,184m,5,89,1150,0,
"NOVO MESTO",,,4548,060N,01506,240E,174m,5,49,1725,0,
"POSTOJNA",,,4545,240N,01411,736E,530m,5,24,765,0,
"PTUJ",,,4625,572N,01559,322E,214m,5,109,860,0,
"SLOVENJ GRADEC",,,4628,264N,01507,062E,500m,5,142,1210,0,

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Sat Jan 07, 2012 10:07 pm

seneca wrote:Hello Frank,

I'm using using the latest Version V1.0.2 and standard localisation for Germany (comma as decimal separator, dot as thousands separator).

Regarding the clear button: What happens, if I open another *.apt or .cup file, after another already opened file? I experienced that the coordinates of the later files are appended to the coordinatelist of the previosly opend files. So generating a comined file will have all coordinates of all opend files in it, right? To start a new emty list, I had to restart your utility.

Besides this comma issue, this tool does all I need, since I'm using other software for task planning.

Regards,
Rainer

name,code,country,lat,lon,elev,style,rwdir,rwlen,freq,desc
"LESCE-BLED",,,4621,440N,01410,448E,504m,5,134,1148,0,
"CELJE",,,4614,691N,01513,356E,244m,5,107,766,0,
"AJDOVSCINA",,,4553,273N,01353,118E,117m,5,93,958,0,
"MURSKA SOBOTA",,,4637,800N,01610,104E,184m,5,89,1150,0,
"NOVO MESTO",,,4548,060N,01506,240E,174m,5,49,1725,0,
"POSTOJNA",,,4545,240N,01411,736E,530m,5,24,765,0,
"PTUJ",,,4625,572N,01559,322E,214m,5,109,860,0,
"SLOVENJ GRADEC",,,4628,264N,01507,062E,500m,5,142,1210,0,
Ranier,

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have posted Version 1.0.3 on my Google Docs site at

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0BwILko ... IxMGJjNmNj

The changes are as follows:
  • Fixed the bug that allowed 'local culture' info to use commas for decimal separators in lat/lon coordinates. Now a dot is always used, regardless of local culture.
    Added a 'Clear Console' button at the bottom. Clicking this just clears the console - it does not affect file generation at all
    Added a check in the combined file generation routine to warn the user if the .APT file and the .CUP file being used are from different folders.
    Fixed a bug that left old airport information in the internal list of airports to be used for combined .CUP files
I have also emailed the new version to Erik Praznovský (3P) as he also hosts this on the virtualsoaring.eu site.

Regards,

Frank (TA)

seneca
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 12:20 pm

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by seneca » Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:18 pm

Yeah, confirm it's working now as expected :-). Thank you!

Regards,
Rainer

DanD
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 11:58 pm
Location: Kanata(Ottawa), Canada

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by DanD » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:18 pm

Frank, it crashes in Win 7 64 bit...
Image

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Wed Oct 31, 2012 3:51 pm

Erwin identified a problem with the way that my CondorWPFileGen program handles waypoint names with accented characters. After some research, I found that I needed to specify 'Encoding.Default' in the constructors for the the C# reader and writer classes I used, and now all is well (until someone finds then next bug!).

Version 1.0.4 is now current. I have attached it here, and I also emailed it to Erik, who will hopefully update it on his VirtualSoaring.edu site.

Regards,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Frank (TA1)

NLG
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:42 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by NLG » Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:12 pm

Hi Frank

Nice utility, thank you.

I think I've noticed a little problem : when I use your soft on (the only 3 or 4) sceneries with east AND western coordinates, all airports are given "W", even the eastern ones.

Regard
Nico
Image

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Sun Nov 18, 2012 2:56 am

NLG wrote:Hi Frank

Nice utility, thank you.

I think I've noticed a little problem : when I use your soft on (the only 3 or 4) sceneries with east AND western coordinates, all airports are given "W", even the eastern ones.

Regard
Nico

Nico,

Oops - that shouldn't happen - I'll take a look tomorrow (too fried from flying Condor to look right now ;-))
Frank (TA1)

NLG
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:42 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by NLG » Sun Nov 18, 2012 12:47 pm

fpaynter wrote:too fried from flying Condor to look right now ;-)
:)
I'm not in a hurry : my glider is in Germany for a while, trying (just trying) to catch up with yours.
After that, there are so many places prettier than the prime meridian !
Image

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:28 pm

NLG wrote:
fpaynter wrote:too fried from flying Condor to look right now ;-)
:)
I'm not in a hurry : my glider is in Germany for a while, trying (just trying) to catch up with yours.
After that, there are so many places prettier than the prime meridian !
Heck - all I'm trying to do is catch SN, 3P, and the rest! ;-).

I think I see a slight problem in my code that might cause this problem for a waypoint like XX, 0.5, but it shouldn't happen for something like XX, 1.5. Does it happen for *all* waypoints in eastern hemisphere, or just the ones within 1 degree of 0?

Can you point me at a scenery that exhibits the problem?

TIA,
Frank (TA1)

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Sun Nov 18, 2012 3:45 pm

I *think* I have fixed the problem with waypoints near the equator or to the 0 longitude line getting the wrong 'N/S/E/W' indicator applied. I believe the problem happened because I truncated the lat & lon to integers *before* comparing them to zero, so everything within 1 degree either side of the zero line (latitude or longitude) got truncated to exactly zero - oops! ;-)

I have uploaded V1.0.5 here, and I have emailed a copy to Erik at VirtualSoaring.eu. Please let me know if the problem is fixed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Frank (TA1)

NLG
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2010 12:42 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by NLG » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:24 am

Hi Frank !
fpaynter wrote:Does it happen for *all* waypoints in eastern hemisphere ?
You were right. I had tested 4 sceneries* : 26 of 135 airports with eastern coordinates, all of these 26 within 1 degree east of 0.
All but 1 in fact : sorry :|, I didn't see this one : Tibenham, UK was correctly set "E" by your v.1.0.4.

I forgot to test 'Pyrénées v2' where some airports are eastern than the "001E". V.1.0.4 worked fine with those airports too.

Anyway, you have found and fixed what was wrong ! Thanks Franck :D
See you at Hahnweide airfield. They seem to have some fresh beer left.

Nico

*Pays-Basque/South_UK_v2/UK_vfr3/Normandie
Image

fpaynter
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2005 12:38 am

Re: Condor Waypoint File Generator Program Update

Post by fpaynter » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:41 pm

NLG wrote:Hi Frank !
fpaynter wrote:Does it happen for *all* waypoints in eastern hemisphere ?
You were right. I had tested 4 sceneries* : 26 of 135 airports with eastern coordinates, all of these 26 within 1 degree east of 0.
All but 1 in fact : sorry :|, I didn't see this one : Tibenham, UK was correctly set "E" by your v.1.0.4.

I forgot to test 'Pyrénées v2' where some airports are eastern than the "001E". V.1.0.4 worked fine with those airports too.

Anyway, you have found and fixed what was wrong ! Thanks Franck :D
See you at Hahnweide airfield. They seem to have some fresh beer left.

Nico

*Pays-Basque/South_UK_v2/UK_vfr3/Normandie
Nico,

Glad to hear the fix worked - and thanks for pointing it out!

Oooh, fresh beer! ;-)
Frank (TA1)

Locked