Some newbie comments about Condor.

Discussion related to the Condor...

Moderators: Uros, Tom, OXO

jjmaloss

Some newbie comments about Condor.

Post by jjmaloss » Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:22 am

I am a real glider pilot with 1400 hours of flight and with all FAI badges except the 5000 metre altitude gain. I am also using SilentWings.

The good points of this simulator are the following:

1) The frame rate is better than SilentWings: I maxed out everything and I still get 45 fps.

2) The Landscape can be of incredible quality.

3) The side-slip manoeuvre looks pretty realistic.

4) I crashed to a mountain where I pulled the stick as a (bad) reflex after the glider was buffetting. It is a good warning.

The less good things are the following:

1) Condor works only on Windows.

2) On tow, I tend to overrun the tug (what is unrealistic) and I do have to open the airbrakes to keep control.

3) I cannot control the glider with the rudder when on the ground. This is incorrect.

4) The cloud base is always at the same altitude irrespective of the ground altitude. In higher terrain, thermals go higher and the cloud base is higher as well.

5) It is impossible to make a free flight without a dummy declaration.

6) Thermal shapes are unrealistic: Normally, just below the cloud base of a cumulus, there is lift almost everywhere. The thermals are perfect circles which is in general incorrect.

7) The conservation of mass law is not respected. In strong conditions, the lift is of 6 m/s, but between the clouds, there is not notable subsidence.

8 The thermals are always at the same location.

9) In mountain flying, the anabatic and catabatic winds are not modelled properly.